9xr mix

tgy9x is a fork of er9x, and is the default firmware that is released by hobbyking on the Turnigy 9XR transmitter.
Post Reply
Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

9xr mix

Post by Soco » Wed Aug 13, 2014 4:43 pm

Hi all
I'm trying to mix some up elevator when I operate my air brakes but cant work it out, could anyone advise me please

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9xr mix

Post by KAL » Wed Aug 13, 2014 6:46 pm

Hi Soco,

in the mixer simply add a second line to the line for your elevator
Set source to the same source as your air brakes and weight to the amount of "some up elevator" you wish.

Can you post a eepe-file and describe your channel assignment? Then answers can get more details or perhaps you can get
a modified eepe-file :)

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:39 am

Hi Klaus
Unfortunately as a complete novice at this I dont even know what a eepe-file is, however I will try and explain the set up I have:-
Two air brakes joined with a Y lead to my receiver on channel 4, channel 1 is throttle, 2 is ail, 3 is elevator.
I wish to operate the brakes with the 3 way F switch, so that in the up position there are no brakes, in the mid position there are 50% brakes and in the down position there are 100% brakes. I also want to add some up elevator when using these brakes.
I hope that helps a little.
Many thanks for your help

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9xr mix

Post by KAL » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:48 pm

Hi Soco,

first of all it's not a good idea to start multiple threads. Sometimes you just have to be a little patient,
'cause all members of this forum have their 'real' work and therefore are not available 24h a day ;)

I assume you use eepe to update your TX every once in a while. With this tools you can read the memory
of your TX and store it's content to disk. You also can store data of a single model. That's what is meant by eepe-file.

Just like this
SOCO.eepm
(1.32 KiB) Downloaded 53 times
Load this file to eepe with 'File' - 'Load Model/Settings'
double click on the model SOCO and you can see the settings
on the lower edge of the window you find the SIMULATE button.
There you can see what the channels do when moving the "sticks"

Just in case you don't use eepe, you can download it here.

If you don't use eepe maybe the following (for mixer menu) can help you:

Code: Select all

CH01   +100%THR 
CH02   +100%AIL 
CH03   +100%ELE 
       +5%HALF Switch(ID1)
       +10%HALF Switch(ID2)
CH04   +100%3POS
Just play with the weight (+5%, +10%) and set them to what you need.
If added elevator is to the wrong direction, just set a negative weight.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:16 pm

Klaus
My apologies for using multiple threads.

With regard to the mix although it works the elevator as required the brakes do not work with thei d switch. Just to confirm the brakes are on ch. 4

Soco


User avatar
KAL
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9xr mix

Post by KAL » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:30 pm

Do I understand it right, that the elevator moves a bit when flicking the 3-pos-switch
but the brakes don't move?

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:45 pm

Klaus,
I have just noticed that my transmitter (9xr) does not have the source 3pos, is there an alternative

soco

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:47 pm

Klaus

Yes the elevator works correctly but the brakes do not move, I assume it is due to the source (3 pos)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15522
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9xr mix

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:04 pm

Soco: What firmware are you running on you 9XR? Are you still using the firmware it came with?

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:08 pm

Mike
Yes it is the original, have not yet upgraded.

Soco

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9xr mix

Post by KAL » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:16 pm

Sorry Soco,

I didn't take into account that you use the stock software :oops: .

Without 3Pos as source I would use the following on ch4:

Code: Select all

CH04   -100%FULL Switch(ID0)
       +0%FULL Switch(ID1)
       +100%FULL Switch(ID2)
Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Soco
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:34 am
Country: -

Re: 9xr mix

Post by Soco » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:30 pm

Klaus
Thanks for your assistance, it has been a great help. Can I assume that if I upgrade to the latest firmware I will have the 3pos source?

Soco

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15522
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: 9xr mix

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 14, 2014 8:59 pm

Yes.
You have been referred to consider using eepe. On the 9XR, HK chose to set special protection 'fuses' in the processor that prevent reading the EEPROM (model data). If you upgrade to the latest firmware, you will automatically clear these fuses.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
KAL
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 4:36 pm
Country: Germany
Location: somewhere near Rothenburg ob der Tauber

Re: 9xr mix

Post by KAL » Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:03 pm

That's right. 3Pos as mixer input in er9x exists since firmware rev r775 (Sept. 2012).
To upgrade you need an USBASP adapter. Note that there are some variants of this out there
that have problems communicating to our TXs.
If you want to be shure to get an USBASP that works, check e.g this page
or maybe Mike or someone else can point you to a place in UK where you can get one.

Klaus
( TH9X / 9XTreme / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc )
( 9XR PRO / erSKY9x  / FrSky DHT / Spektrum / Multi / RotEnc / P3 as Slider )

Post Reply

Return to “tgy9xr”