ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

ersky9x is a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
Post Reply
JamesPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:32 am
Country: -

ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by JamesPal » Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:43 am

I just flashed my 9XR Pro with ERSky9X r221. The flashing went smoothy and it seems to be working just fine. I have some questions about the radio set up. I'm using the HK OrangeRX 2.4Ghz Telemetry Module For Turnigy 9XR Pro. This is a telemetry module. I'm having trouble finding setup as the module is not powering up. The same problem existed in the ERSky9XR r204 that was originally installed. I was able to make it work by changing these settings in the ERSky9XR:
  • To use this module in a 9XR-PRO, set the protocol to DSM2 (it does DSMX as well), and select the type as "9XR-DSM".
  • Make sure the telemetry is set to COM1 and "Invert COM1 is ON".
I need help finding these settings in ERSky9X. Help pointing to the manuals would be appreciated.

Also, should I have flashed to ERSky9XR instead of ERSky9X?
"None of us are as smart as all of us together..."
Jim Palmer

Bellevue, Washington USA

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:08 am

Yes, you should flash "ersky9XR".
"Ersky9x" is for the 9x radios with skyboard or Ar9x/ArUni boards.

Go to Model Setup / protocols menu, select the external module and enable it. Then select the right protocol for your module.

For the COM port settings go to the Model Setup/Telemetry menu.
João

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

JamesPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:32 am
Country: -

Re: ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by JamesPal » Mon Apr 16, 2018 3:08 am

Thanks João,
Update successful with ERSky9XR r221. ORX Internal module with telemetry setup on 4-1`5-18:
It worked great to get the module setup. Thanks for the guidance. To recap this is what I did after flashing with the proper 9XR r-221:
  • Selected the correct model
  • Selected Protocols
  • Selected External Module
  • In the Proto field Selected DSM2
  • In the DSM Type Field Selected 9XR-DSM
At this point the module beeped three times. Now the module LED is lit and I would expect it to bind. Then I went to set up the telemetry.

On the Telmetry screen:
  • Usr Proto DSMx
At that point I got lost, I couldn't find the com settings in the telemetry settings. One thing I like about this version of firmware is the module being setup by model. I use more than one module type.
"None of us are as smart as all of us together..."
Jim Palmer

Bellevue, Washington USA

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by jhsa » Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:12 am

Thw COM settings are there :) please have another look.


João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

JamesPal
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:32 am
Country: -

Re: ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by JamesPal » Sun Apr 22, 2018 5:58 am

Thanks John, I got it to bind. The COM setting were right where you said they would be. After the COM settings were correct, it still wouldn't bind. After much fiddling around I disabled the internal module and it bound. Interestingly, there is no internal module in the radio. Another model didn't require the internal module to be disabled to bind. I must have inadvertently changed a setting. Now on to the flight controller.
"None of us are as smart as all of us together..."
Jim Palmer

Bellevue, Washington USA


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSky9X on 9XR Pro

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:33 am

Nice that it worked, although the internal module sould have nothing to do with the problem. :)
Maybe you had another wrong setting somewhere as you say.. ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9x”