Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

ersky9x is a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by andrewju » Sat Oct 15, 2016 8:46 pm

The board I posted above (green) does need a shunt if used with AR9x.

Since some time ago, I use a newer batch of boards (easily identifiable by the blue PCB) that does not require any shunts. Everything is already included in the PCB design. So if you got a board from me and it's blue - no need to worry about the shunts!

Still, correct positioning / orientation is required, indeed! :)
There are some prints on the boards to help with that, too.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16668
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 15, 2016 9:04 pm

andrewju wrote:
Since some time ago, I use a newer batch of boards (easily identifiable by the blue PCB) that does not require any shunts. Everything is already included in the PCB design. So if you got a board from me and it's blue - no need to worry about the shunts!
Well, well, well, I didn't know that ;) :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:35 am

what do you metinonan no need for the 3k9 resistor for the wire connection

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:36 am

what do you mean no need for the 3k9 resistor for the wire connection

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 6:13 am

does anyone have the wire connection setup to were and what each wire goes to on the number 7,6,5


User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:27 pm

andrew can you give me the wire connection diagram for the pcb and do i still need to use 3k9 resistors for the connection on to the 9x board chip were does the wire go does A com go to +5 connection and A go to pin 5 and B to 6 and the s1 go to 7 pin or how did you connect the wires

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:02 pm

so com A connect to +5 S1 connect to pin #3 B connect to pin #4 connect A to pin #5 is this correct

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 11:06 pm

I just dont want to see a genie come out of all this good work to near to finish the mod

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by andrewju » Wed Oct 19, 2016 8:33 am

Are you connecting the encoder to the stock mainboard?
Check out the first post in this thread: viewtopic.php?t=1525
It has some photos and the diagram, as well as some hints on how to do it. I think it should answer most (all?) of your questions.

On the stock board, you do need a 3k3 or 3k9 resistor on each wire going to the MCU. So it's 3 resistors in total.

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 8:01 am

Andrew it all work out did not have to make any changes I connect 3 3k9 resistors to each wire except for the 5v connection and did not have to make any switch on the wire connection it was a easy mod thanks to your PCB thanks man it was so easy thanks for your help and the back light works with the rotary encoder I dont understand i read somewhere that it would not but I have my back light working fine

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

octavios

Post by OctavioS » Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:15 pm

andrewju wrote:The board I posted above (green) does need a shunt if used with AR9x.

Since some time ago, I use a newer batch of boards (easily identifiable by the blue PCB) that does not require any shunts. Everything is already included in the PCB design. So if you got a board from me and it's blue - no need to worry about the shunts!

Still, correct positioning / orientation is required, indeed! :)
There are some prints on the boards to help with that, too.
My guess is that the side were the encoder is outlined and the name of the enconder writen is where the encoder sits. The pins go out the oposite side?
IMG_20161021_211906~2.jpg
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board, running ersky9x;
Turnigy 9XRpro running ersky9x;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis plus running opentx.
Too much radios? Horus is next. :D

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
silversurfer48
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2016 7:00 am
Country: United States
Location: Los Angelas Ca
Contact:

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by silversurfer48 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 11:38 pm

yeah great work do you still have more Im thinking of ordering another maybe two let me know so I can post you the payment on your account OK

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: octavios

Post by andrewju » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:38 am

OctavioS wrote:My guess is that the side were the encoder is outlined and the name of the enconder writen is where the encoder sits. The pins go out the oposite side?
Yes, correct! Exactly as shown on your photo.

As a side note: I find it a little easier to solder the encoder first, and then to solder the pins. The difference is not that big though.
Last edited by andrewju on Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:47 am, edited 1 time in total.

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by andrewju » Sat Oct 22, 2016 7:39 am

silversurfer48 wrote:do you still have more
Sure, I still have plenty of them available.

Sent you a PM.

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

octavios

Post by OctavioS » Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:10 am

andrewju wrote:Yes, correct! Exactly as shown on your photo.

As a side note: I find it a little easier to solder the encoder first, and then to solder the pins. The difference is not that big though.
Now I know what you mean. Because I soldered the pins first and they went a bit behind the board, now i have a 2 mm gap between the board and the encoder.
IMG_20161022_100521.jpg
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board, running ersky9x;
Turnigy 9XRpro running ersky9x;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis plus running opentx.
Too much radios? Horus is next. :D

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by andrewju » Sat Oct 22, 2016 11:26 am

That gap is actually not a bad thing! :) I sometimes put a think piece of paper or something like that between the PCB and the encoder in order to make this gap. The encoder then fits better into the 9x case - this way it gets at a comfortable height when everything is put back together.

You should measure how it fits your radio, I think it will be nearly perfect with this gap! And the final correction of height and positioning need to be made when you solder these pins to the mainboard (take your time to measure and recheck it again and again - no need to rush there!).

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16668
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:00 pm

My main problem when installing these encoders was the HK Backlight. I normally had to sand the encoder board a little on the side that faces the backlight. Not sure if it was necessary with andewju's boards. It was quite a while ago. All my radios have it installed now ;) :)
One thing I can say about his boards is that they are extremely high quality, at least the ones I have..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

octavios

Post by OctavioS » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:16 pm

Ok, much relieved now Andrewju, for a moment I thought a screwed up things.
I don't think it's necessary João, as you can see the blue boards are cut on the sides.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board, running ersky9x;
Turnigy 9XRpro running ersky9x;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis plus running opentx.
Too much radios? Horus is next. :D

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

andrewju
Posts: 697
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by andrewju » Sat Oct 22, 2016 1:37 pm

Yes, the blue boards are cut on both sides and should not need extra trimming. Though, this may vary based on the shape and size of the backlight panel one has.

For the HK backlight, I usually turn them around so that the wires face to the Menu / Exit buttons. I find it is easier to install it this way (even in radios without the encoder!). All of my radios have backlight controlled by ER9x, so I don't use the stock connector HK backlight came with.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16668
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Sky9x Rotary Encoder Option

Post by jhsa » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:32 pm

Yeah, the same here.. as I said, it has been a while and I wasn't sure yours needed trimming.. You have just confirmed that they don't.. ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests