Ersky9x Bug Reporting

ersky9x is a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:37 pm

Fixed in the source code.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

tsenecal
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:32 pm
Country: United States

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by tsenecal » Tue Mar 13, 2018 8:36 pm

MikeB wrote:
Wed Mar 07, 2018 2:55 pm
tsenecal wrote:
Sun Feb 25, 2018 6:25 pm
built 422 for linux on ubuntu 16.04 64 bit with QT 5... had to make one single change to get it to compile:

line 9 of "modeledit.cpp"

#include "loggingdialg.h" ---> #include "loggingDialog.h"

it appears that both Mac OS and Windows being case insensitive file systems, they didn't care about the lower case D, but linux does.
Could you post the resulting, 64-bit build please, or send it to me via a PM?
It seems it may be more popular than the 32-bit version.

Mike

Mike,

just saw this posting... I can get that posted/pm'ed later today.

tsenecal
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 8:32 pm
Country: United States

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by tsenecal » Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:13 am

see attached... it is a "standard" linux zip file... unzip to revert it to an ELF 64 bit executable...
eepskye.zip
(7.28 MiB) Downloaded 27 times

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:21 am

Thank you, I'll get this posted/put on www.er9x.com.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:14 pm

Hi all, i have the latest ersky9x test version (ersky9x_PRO_9xt - 08-Apr-2018 19:49) on a 9xtreme and im not able to activate the hardware nor the eprom menu as stated in the help page. thx
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:44 pm

Odd, just tested it on my 9Xtreme, which has that version flashed, and it works OK.
Check the left horizontal trim switch is working when pressed to the left.
When you power on with the left horizontal trim held to the left, the display shows "Hardware Menu Enabled" and continues to do so until you release the trim switch.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:16 pm

Yes, the message appears and the trim works as expected. I think it happened when I flashed this template to the tx. http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4743
After flashing the radio became weird. I went to eepsky and flashed a blank eeprom (using file/new) but those menus don't unlock.

Enviado do meu ONEPLUS A5000 através do Tapatalk

3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:48 pm

That "template" is for er9x. How did you flash it to the radio?

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:59 pm

Mike, perhaps it is a good idea to implement different file extensions for ersky9x and er9x?
This would include models, eeproms, general settings, etc..

Could the file extensions have more than 4 characters?
For ersky9x and eepskye:

eeprom - .epskye
models - .epskym
General settings - epskyg

The problem would still be the .bin files I think.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:16 pm

That's why I'm asking how the file was flashed to the radio.
The .eepe, .eepm and .eepg files all are in XML format and have codes embedded in them to indicate the target processor type (AVR or ARM). These codes are checked by eepe and eepskye.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: RE: Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:32 pm

MikeB wrote:That "template" is for er9x. How did you flash it to the radio?

Mike
It was through eepskye. I opened the file through open in eepskye and then sent to radio, by right clicking. Actually I was not aware it was for eepe.

Enviado do meu ONEPLUS A5000 através do Tapatalk

3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: RE: Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Fri Apr 13, 2018 11:33 pm

jhsa wrote:Mike, perhaps it is a good idea to implement different file extensions for ersky9x and er9x?
This would include models, eeproms, general settings, etc..

Could the file extensions have more than 4 characters?
For ersky9x and eepskye:

eeprom - .epskye
models - .epskym
General settings - epskyg

The problem would still be the .bin files I think.

João
Definitely a good idea.

Enviado do meu ONEPLUS A5000 através do Tapatalk

3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:30 am

Mike, i think its important to mention that eepskye doesnt recognise the file. I am the one to blame, since in a strike of dumbness, i changed the file options when the "new" window poped up.
Sem Título.jpg
In order to flash i changed the file association to the second option and thus it was possible.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sat Apr 14, 2018 9:35 am

I also flashed the latest stable ersky9x, and still the error occurs.
Is there a way to reset the eeprom?
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:05 am

I also notice that when itry to activate the hidden menus, after i release the required trim switch, a square is shown at the top left corner os the screen and when the radio boots after that, the voltage starts very low and rapidly increases as if the radio resets or crashes.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:29 am

What you already did (create a new blank EEPROM in eepskye and write it to the radio) should reset the EEPROM.
Also, enabling the Hardware menu should not depend on the EEPROM at all.
You could read the EEPROM to a file, but it in a .zip file and post it here and I'll have a look at it to see what might be wrong (it may be a day or so before I can do that though).

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:33 am

Does the square always appear, or only when you try to enable the hardware menu.
The square indicates a problem with the serial connection (via the spring pins) from the 9Xtreme to the original main board. A backup method of passing the control data is being used.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17722
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by jhsa » Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:09 am

I had that a while ago.. Had to lift the 9XT board, clean the pads and install the board again. If that ever happens again, I will remove those "springy pin" thingies and solder the board to the 9x board :(
That is what i should have already done since the beginning.. Good that Mike implemented a backup connection..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:19 am

The square only happens when i try to activate the hardware menu. My guess is that the probable cause will be the comunication problem between the 9xtreme and the mainboard, that Mike describes. I will clean the pads and if the problem persists i will post the eeprom here. Thx for the support.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sat Apr 14, 2018 2:05 pm

Do you think it's wise to put some grease on the pads before assembling the 9xtreme to prevent oxidation?

Enviado do meu ONEPLUS A5000 através do Tapatalk

3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:15 pm

Please check the revision of the firmware running on the original M64 processor (UP LONG, then LEFT 3 times).

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:24 pm

Its 0.7. I always check for updates after new version, test or stable.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Mon Apr 16, 2018 5:38 pm

I've posted a special test version that reports 3 values on the "Slave" menu.
Please try the power on with the trim held left, then go to that menu and let me know what the 3 values at the right of lines 2, 3 and 4 are.
I expect the top valuie to be counting up rapidly.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Mon Apr 16, 2018 7:12 pm

Yes Mike, the top one is counting very fast, the middle one has a fixed value of "001E" and the bottom one shifts slowly between "0000" and "0002" back and forth. Hope it helps.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Mon Apr 16, 2018 10:08 pm

I need some more information.
When you try enabling the hardware menu, you say you get a black square at the top left. Does this then disappear?
Also, after trying to start in this way, please check the "BOOT REASON" menu to see if the reason is "POWER ON" or "WATCHDOG".
Please also check the "BOOT REASON" menu if you start normally.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:16 pm

Yes the black square disapears (it only shows up for a second or less) and the boot reason is "WATCHDOG".
Powering on normally shows boot reason "POWER ON".
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 17, 2018 1:19 pm

Ok, so no real problem with the connection to the M64 board. So something is causing the watchdog reset. I'll have a look at the code. I may need to add some debug and get you to test again.

Mike

Edit: If you power on holding the left trim, and keep holding the trim, does the display wait at the "Hardware Menu Enabled" message until you release the trim?
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:59 pm

Yes, the message keeps displaying untill i relase the trim switch.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15562
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 17, 2018 10:33 pm

Please post your EEPROM (in a .zip file) and I'll see if I can see what is happening.

Mike
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Ersky9x Bug Reporting

Post by OctavioS » Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:24 pm

Hi Mike, sorry to keep you wayting, but here it is.
Edit: [file replaced] Sorry again, i think this might be it.
OctavioS_9xt.rar
(512 KiB) Downloaded 44 times
Last edited by OctavioS on Wed Apr 18, 2018 4:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9x”