ERSKY9x Questions

ersky9x is a port of er9x for use on the sky9x board.
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 09, 2017 8:59 pm

Well, Well, Well, something new. Mike, could you please watch this video when you have time??

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PYlbdGcMxsM

Also please have a look at the log. As we can't log TmOK, I used it as source to a scaler and logged it. SC1
Please see the value of TmOK changing from 1 to 2 and back to 1.
Weird problem :(

Thanks

João
Attachments
Easystar_TmOK.csv.zip
(2.9 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14186
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Tue May 09, 2017 10:22 pm

If you have the main battery connected to the ESC, and you have a voltage divider from the main battery going to the OXS, then you may find you are powering the OXS via this voltage divider. Remember that the processor inputs usually have protection diodes from signal to the power rail. With the processor not powered, but a voltage on any input, this voltage will cause the protection diode to conduct and provide power to the processor.
Holding the balance lead may well AC couple some noise voltage into the processor. Inside a house, you will be picking up mains AC voltage (touch your finger to a 'scope probe!). This noise, probably coupled to the individual cell voltage dividers, will also provide a power source to the processor via the protection diodes. Taken together, you probably supply enough voltage/current for the processor to start running, then stop, then start again, causing the effect you see.

Looking at the log file, look at the "valid" column. The value here is 100 times the "User data timeout" plus the "Receiver data timeout".
The receiver timeout is set to 35 (for 350 mS) every time a link packet is received (RSSI/A1/A2), and the user timeout is set to 90 (for 900mS) every time a user packet is received.
A value of 0 gives TmOK as 0.
A value of 35 or less (but not 0) gives TmOK as 1.
A value of 100 or more gives TmOK as 2.
Clearly, you are receiving link packets (last 2 digits showing 3x most of the time, and sometimes you receive a user packet, first 2 digits show 8x, then half a second later 3x (counted down by 50, 1 count every 10mS, so 50 in 0.5 seconds), then nothing half a second later still.

So this may be the cause of your other alarm(s) at power on.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 09, 2017 10:50 pm

But Mike, this happens at the field as well.
and i don't remember seeing any of these problems before.. I didn't change anything on the oXs.

Also, the oXs is connected to the receiver by only one wire. The ground to it is connected when I connect the balance plug. How can the oXs be powered from the dividers, if there isn't even any ground connected??
I can see that there is some kind of interference, but a bit weird.. any suggestions to avoid this? If I power the oXs before, this doesn't happen.

About the other alarms at power ON, where is the problem then? Ersky9x? Or am I misunderstanding something?
Ahh, last time I remember having also a false cell voltage alarm when flying.. As far as I know this was caused by the oXs sending data to fast.. But I did increase the time and the problem stopped.. Now it started again? Strange..

I think i will flash the radio with an older version of ersky9x and test..

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 09, 2017 11:15 pm

Ok, flashed ProvR221a7 and I can reproduce the problem.. How didn't I see it before? :o
The question is, what can be done to avoid this then??
The first cell doesn't have a divider. Thed oXs is working at 5V and the first cell is under that value. So, maybe I could put a serial resistance on this pin to limit some current? Without a resistor to ground the analog value would be the same, right?

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14186
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Mon May 15, 2017 10:37 pm

Yes, you could add a resistor (less than 10K), and the analog value should still read correctly. If you connect a lipo cell directly, then it will power the processor via the protection diode(s).

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14186
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Mon May 15, 2017 10:41 pm

I've posted test version "c9" of ersky9x.
I found a bug (added when I "improved" the protocol setting), where the custom failsafe setting for the XJT was not carried over to the new settings, so the failsafe would be set to all channels at 0% (not good for the throttle).

You will need to configure the custom settings.


The Horus firmware is included in this, and I've improved the file handling on the SD card for saving models and settings. I've also added model moving and copying on the Horus.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 16, 2017 12:05 am

Thanks Mike, I think on my latest oXs's I already put that resistor.. I remember having similar problem before, but just didn't connect both situations.. So a resistor should stop the battery cell powering the atmega.. Will try that in the next days..

Thanks

João

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 16, 2017 1:40 pm

MikeB wrote:
Mon May 15, 2017 10:37 pm
Yes, you could add a resistor (less than 10K), and the analog value should still read correctly. If you connect a lipo cell directly, then it will power the processor via the protection diode(s).

Mike.
Mike, I have been thinking here. I think this doesn't make sense as far as the problem I'm seeing is concerned?

I power the ESC and receiver by connecting the battery's main plug to the ESC (oXs still disconnected)
Then I connect the battery balance plug to the oXs. The oXs is powered by the battery cell number 2.
So, no cell (no power) and no ground is connected to the oXs until i connect the balance plug. So, cell one not having a resistor should have nothing to do with the problem?? That pin (first cell) is connected at the same time as cell 2 which also powers the oXs..

The problem is:
When I finished one flight, disconnect the battery, have the Serial lost alarm (Which is normal). Do not turn radio off.
But when I connect the new battery (same procedure), I get the serial lost alarm as soon as i connect the balance plug after powering the ESC.

Sometimes I also have the alarm the first time I connect the balance plug, not only when replacing batteries..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 16, 2017 2:31 pm

Hmmm, I have just tried another oXs i have here, and I am not able to make it fail.. let me have a better look at this. Perhaps I haven't updated the plane's oXs with the latest changes (1500mS delay on starting sending data), even if i think I did update it..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14186
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Tue May 16, 2017 2:33 pm

I assume you "Serial Lost" alarm occurs when you notice TmOK change from 2 to 1 or 0.
TmOK changes from 1 to 2 when a "User Data" hub packet is received. This could happen due to simply powering up the oXs, causing the serial data signal to the Rx to change. If no more data is sent for a while, then the user data timeout could easily expire (0.9 seconds), and TmOK will drop back to 1.
Is there now a delay in the oXs at startup where it doesn't send any data for at least a second?
Edit: 1500mS delay could easily cause this!

Mike.

Edit2: Try adding a 0.7 sec delay in the voice alert.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 16, 2017 3:55 pm

Thanks Mike, today I was seeing the low voltage problem when turning on the oXs ON by plugging the balance plug. Please check the video if you have time

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cv8rAt3stNw

I have just updated the oXs with a version that I knew had the 1500ms data delay, and it seems to be working.. no alarms so far.
The voice alarm on TmOK had a 2 second delay and still had the alarm. the reason for the oXs 1500mS delay is that before it was sending the data even before it did read the voltages :) of course, the result was a 0 volt reading sent.

I now decreased the delay on the voice alarm to 0.5s, and still no alarms.. it seems to work now.. will charge some batts and try to go to the field and test there..

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Tue May 16, 2017 8:11 pm

Went to the field and all worked as expected. Obviously I thought I've updated the oXs but I never did :(
Too many projects at the same time :(

Sorry about that.

Will continue to test though. I still think that a 4K7 resistor in series with the analog pin when not using a divider is a good idea,and can prevent damage to the battery and/or loss of control if for example the atmega pin short to ground..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

mrozilla
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:59 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by mrozilla » Sat May 20, 2017 8:37 pm

MikeB wrote:
Wed Apr 05, 2017 5:56 pm
(...) Maybe one day I can find time to program a "view log file" option into eepskye.

Mike.
How about Mike, you already have a plan for the log viewer?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14186
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by MikeB » Sat May 20, 2017 9:30 pm

No plan at present I'm afraid. I have just too many other things to do.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
RCHH
Posts: 451
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2012 2:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Plymouth

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by RCHH » Sun May 21, 2017 12:10 am

C9 flashed to Horus no problem.

Confirmed model move working. However, model backup gives a 'NOT DONE' message.

Also notice on shutdown a 'EEPROM BUSY' message. Am assuming something is 'saving' during that time?
The simpleton asked "Hows about ErSky9X for Horus???". And the Genius from Dorset replied "Why not indeed? I shall get right onto it!" And then there was light on Horus! And it was good!

mrozilla
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 9:59 pm
Country: -

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by mrozilla » Sun May 21, 2017 8:44 am

MikeB wrote:
Sat May 20, 2017 9:30 pm
No plan at present I'm afraid. I have just too many other things to do.

Mike.
Can you even make a .csv file template to just replace the data from your log file so that the graphs are ready and presented everything?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16254
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: ERSKY9x Questions

Post by jhsa » Mon May 29, 2017 9:52 am

I have just built a little low power, DIY Sbus Frsky compatible receiver to be installed inside my new Ar9x radio that I am building at the moment. The receiver worked outside of the radio, so I have proceeded to install it in the radio. It is placed beside the trainer Jack and under the backplate on the back of the radio. Yes it is small :)
Updated the firmware and bootloader on the board.
On setting up the trainer I have realized that the trainer calibration numbers moved but when I flicked the configured trainer switch, the channels just centered and would not move.
After about an hour messing with it, and as a last resort before I reported a bug :) I have decided to flash my other Ar9x radio's eeprom to this one.. All suddenly worked.
So I guess the problem was the old eeprom version that still came with the board a year or so ago?

My suggestion is when you install one of these boards, just update the firmware and bootloader as you normally do, and then open Eepskye, create a new blank eeprom, and flash it to the radio. This might save you a couple hours of trying to find out why stuff doesn't work as it should :D

João

Sent from my thor using Tapatalk

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “ersky9x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests