broken orange dsm2 rx

Like DSM2/DSMX? Want to mod your radio to support it? Post your messages here!
Post Reply
cr4wler
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:46 pm
Country: -

broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by cr4wler » Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:01 am

hello,

i just bought an OrangeRX from hobyking..
and accidentally plug it it wrong polarity and i smell something burned. now its dead
is there any way i can fix it.

thanks

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4311
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by ShowMaster » Fri Oct 26, 2012 5:45 am

Once the magic smoke is let out it's usually more trouble and cost to put it back in.
Being ultra small surface mount parts and many parts houses having a minimum order of $15-25 + shipping I think the answer is order a new working one. Your plane and its electronics will be glad you did.
I'm sorry this has happened, we've all done it at sometime.



ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

cr4wler
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:46 pm
Country: -

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by cr4wler » Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:17 am

thanks for your response...

is there any way to prevent this from happening again...

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4311
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Oct 28, 2012 3:31 pm

cr4wler wrote:thanks for your response...

is there any way to prevent this from happening again...
I own but have never used my orange RX so I'm glad for the warning. Usually the RX design isn't damaged if a battery plug is reversed, same for servos. Maybe others reading this will share their stories, bad or good on this.
For now it's either a fluke or a design issue. So the only good way to prevent it is to check your connections several times before powering up.
The next thing suggested by many posts is to always buy several orange RXs because for the price some just are bad or fail. I flew with a person Sunday that every time his plane got out 200 ft he had link loss, no control. No crash happened, whew. When I looked at his RX it had no antenna wire on it anymore, it was gone!
If the orange RX works well for you buy a few spares, the price is so low.




ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4534
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by Rob Thomson » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:43 pm

I have used orange rx, and never blown it up with a reversed voltage! Maybe you just had a dud?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!


User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4311
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by ShowMaster » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:23 pm

I agree Rob. At my local field I've only heard about duds, or dead, the first time they are used, never being connected reversed.
The antenna issue I mentioned has an update. Seems he stuck a few plans in the ground with it in the past for various reasons. He never noticed when the antenna broke off. I don't think this was a bad RX but instead made bad over time.


ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by cre8tiveleo » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:13 am

I've about 4 dozen orange rx's of all flavours, and other rx's, All have been abused beyond belief, and not one has been blown from reverse voltage. you can't. You can short out the terminals by accident. But putting a lead in backwards won't do diddly to the rx.
Middle is ALWAYS positive. the two outer are either ground or signal... it won't blow the rx. unless you shorted the leads somewhere... and that's not good for anything attached to the rx either.)

end of ramble.. back to building the robot...

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4311
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by ShowMaster » Mon Oct 29, 2012 1:24 am

Ok, so maybe we know of one?
To be fair he did say smoke, maybe too much BEC voltage? We never got all the details on the power source yet?
But the honest answer to his question is if there's smoke buy a new one!
The best repair for it.



ShowMaster
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

cr4wler
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:46 pm
Country: -

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by cr4wler » Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:52 pm

i've already fixed it :mrgreen:
rcvr.jpg
i bought another RX and swap some electronic components to figure which one had burned.
first swap was the Capacitor ----> OK
then i tried the 662k transitor -----> boom the other one is dead!!

Image

now i need to buy a 662k transistor


note: I dont own the images

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by gohsthb » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:59 pm

Probably still cheaper to buy a new receiver.
-Gohst

cr4wler
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:46 pm
Country: -

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by cr4wler » Sat Feb 09, 2013 4:27 am

yep!! good for you coz have a lot of money

the transistor 662k is only $1.50 10pc including the shipping from ebay....

not a big deal! if incase it happens to me again i still have a spare!
Last edited by cr4wler on Sat Feb 16, 2013 5:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rperkins
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:51 pm
Country: -

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by rperkins » Sat Feb 09, 2013 8:27 am

good fix and way to report back a happy ending.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17660
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 09, 2013 11:38 am

gohsthb wrote:Probably still cheaper to buy a new receiver.
-Gohst
I have a bad Frsky receiver and I still hope I can fix it someday, so I've never thrown it away.. It will be probably cheaper to buy a new one but I'll do it for the challenge.. ;)
Is it not why we're all here for anyway?? ;) :lol:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
hart
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:38 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Belfast

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by hart » Sun Feb 10, 2013 4:35 pm

I recently ordered one of these modules from HobbyKing on the assumption that it was an easy way to take advantage of DSMX (which is better than DSM2) - can I assume that if I bind this module in my 9x with a Spektrum AR8000 receiver will operate in DSMX mode or will it simply fall back to DSM2 compatibility mode? In other words: is the OrangeRX transmitter module a true DSMX transmitter module?

Daedalus66
Posts: 1766
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:22 pm
Country: -
Location: Ottawa

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by Daedalus66 » Thu May 09, 2013 9:45 pm

Not sure if you are still looking for an answer, but it's yes. The module when bound to a DSMX receiver goes into DSMX mode.

User avatar
hart
Posts: 94
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:38 pm
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Belfast

Re: broken orange dsm2 rx

Post by hart » Fri May 10, 2013 1:12 am

G'day,

that's awesome news! I might get around to doing the antenna mod then :-)

Post Reply

Return to “DSM2/DSMX Mods”