Sudden communication problem between EEPE and 9X transmitters

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
rrobbins

Sudden communication problem between EEPE and 9X transmitters

Post by rrobbins »

I've just encountered a very unique and perplexing problem while using EEPE to update my 9X transmitters and would like to know if anyone else has encounter this.

I've got two 9X transmitters, both equipped with Smartieparts boards. TX1 has a version 1 SP board, TX2 has the later model SP board. I've been using these two TXs with ER9X for several years, using EEPE for numerous firmware updates and saving my model memories frequently. Once I got them configured, updating to new firmware versions and reading and writing memories has always worked perfectly.

Last fall, I put all my RC stuff away for the season as I normally do. When I got everything out this spring, I was going to save my model memories again just before going out for the first time.

Tonight I connected my PC to TX1 normally via USB and the TX1 display come alive as it usually does so I assume the USB connection was fine. However, when I attempted to read the model memories, I got the following error message from AVRDUDE:

=================================================================================
Started AVRDUDE
C:/Program Files (x86)/eePe/avrdude.exe -c usbasp -p m64 F -P usb -U eeprom:r:C:/Users/rod/AppData/Local/Temp/temp.hex:i
=================================================================================
avrdude.exe: error: could not find USB device "USBasp" with vid=0x16c0 pid=0x5dc

AVRDUDE done - exit code 1