er9x development

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Quick answer:
For channel 2, use -50% Rud, -50% Ele, GV1, and reverse the servo direction I think.

I can't really add !GVx. We have a byte to store things like the weight in. This can have 256 different values. The numeric values go from -125 to +125, which is 251 values (including 0). There are only 5 values left that are then used to store the GVAR to use instead, nowhere to put a ! option.

I'll look closer at what you are trying to do a bit later.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Thanks Mike..
The directions and the mixing are all working as intended. I can adjust the amount of Thr to Ele compensation with P3.
The thing is just that using 2 GVARs seems to be quite wasteful for such a simple operation as reversing the direction of the mix. :)
It was just an idea.. Always trying to improve.. :D
It works fine as it is..

Maybe on er9x V2 you could increase the number of values to 512 instead of 256 ;)

Thanks again

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

If you use my quick answer, you only need the one GVAR, don't you?
Another way to get the negative of a GVAR is to use a SCALER, with source the GVAR, multiply by 1, divide by 1, but set the sign to - instead of +.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

You don't necessarily need to use any GVARs:
CH1:
+50% Rud
+50% Ele
+100% CH16
CH2:
+50% Rud
-50% Ele
-100% CH16
CH16:
+20% P3 Offset(20%)
* +50% Thr ( Offset(50%) - Multiply multiplex

Works as well.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

MikeB wrote:If you use my quick answer, you only need the one GVAR, don't you?

Mike.
I probably didn't understand it sorry :)

Yeah, i see I can do the same with the multiply mix. But using the GVARs is just so much easier, at least for me. If we're not really into this kind of programming we will never get there. I will stick to the GVARs and when I found the right value I will just replace the GV1 and 2 by their actual values in the mixer.
Thanks for the explanation..

João

EDIT: In er9x there are many ways of doing the same thing. I tend to try to find the easiest and then share.. The manual will have the easiest and the not so easy ones. For example, your examples above will probably end up in the manual ;) :D
The same as my GVAR example ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Next release will have the weights changed to 50% for V-tail and Elevon templates, as well as having all of the first 4 channels set.

Another way of doing this sort of mix is to order the mixes in reverse. Do the elevator change from the throttle first, then the main controls. This allows you to use the multiply mix on just the one other mix, and also avoids the need to use 'virtual' channels 15 and/or 16.
It also works slightly better as channels 15/16 haven't been calculated when channel 1 is calculated, so the channel 15/16 value used is the one calculated last time. This doesn't cause much of a problem as the mixes are calculated often, but any gain is worthwhile.

CH1:
+20% P3 Offset(20%)
* +50% Thr ( Offset(50%) - Multiply multiplex
+50% Rud
+50% Ele

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

I use something like the example above on my IC powered plane for throttle trim. Actually the example is on the manual I think.

But for my V-tail plane I think that the GVAR(s) approach is a better option because the value will not be permanent. I will just find the right setting with the pot, and then the mix will get the value from the GVARs. CH15 and 16 can then be deleted, as well as the GVAR programming, and will keep only one Thr (OP3) mix on each V-tail channel.

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Mike, er9x-2561, latest test version.

Logical switches, AND switch. It shows ELE even though I have this switch configured as a 3 position switch. I should be able to select ELv, EL- and EL^, the same as with IDx.

I also think ID0, ID1 and ID2, Should be changed to IDv, ID- and ID^ for consistency??

Thanks

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

That's the standard problem of there only being 4 bits to store the switch selection, and the codes for EL^ EL- and ELv don't fit, so I can't do much about this. It should be correct if you use LD or higher (seemed OK when I just checked them), as these extra logical switches have a full byte for the AND switch.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

It looks like er9x really needs some serious eeprom structure update ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I know, but it will also then need a serious update to eepe, which will take much more time!

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Yeah.. I wish I knew how to help you with that :(

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
andrewju
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: er9x development

Post by andrewju »

If eePe could just 'eat' hex files and then simulate the behavior of a specific firmware version - THAT would be cool!
Dreams, dreams...

Don't listen to me, gents! :)
simonhun
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:04 am
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by simonhun »

Hi all.
I want to connect an oled display in parallel mode(SSD1306), but it have different control pins then the original LCD(ssd1306:CS,D/C, R/W, E/RD -- LCD:CS, A0, WR, RD). I search a lot in forum, but I didn't find the connecting method. Where can i find the answer? (sorry my bad english)
andrewju
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: er9x development

Post by andrewju »

Mike,

The latest eePe (r418) on my Windows machine downloads just 'er9x.hex' when I set it to download 'er9x - FrSky - Serial Voice' and 'Processor = m64'.

I guess that's a bug...
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

Seems like it is a bug. I'll try to look into it.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

It is a bug when downloading that version as opposed to fetching an update to that version. Quite easy to fix, I'll try to build and post a test version tomorrow (that's later today now!).

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
simonhun
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:04 am
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by simonhun »

wiring guide for display control pins in parallel mode (for oled SSD1306):
IN CODE ------------- ATMELPIN ----- OLEDPIN ---- LCDPIN(gruvin9x_v2_actual-1.pdf)
OUT_C_LCD_E --------- PORTC5 ------ E/RD ------- LCD_RD
OUT_C_LCD_RnW ----- PORTC4 ------ R/W ------- LCD_WR
OUT_C_LCD_A0 ------- PORTC3 ------ D/C -------- LCD_A0
OUT_C_LCD_RES ------ PORTC2 ------ RES -------- LCD_RES
OUT_C_LCD_CS1 ------ PORTC1 ------ CS --------- LCD_CS1
but it's not working. I don't know why.
Last edited by simonhun on Thu Aug 06, 2015 6:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

andrewju wrote:The latest eePe (r418) on my Windows machine downloads just 'er9x.hex' when I set it to download 'er9x - FrSky - Serial Voice' and 'Processor = m64'.
Just posted a test version (of the .exe) with this fixed (I hope) here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4598&p=64969#p64969.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Mike, er9x is not saving the main screen when a telemetry screen is selected, even after the radio is ON for a long time.. It reverts back to the previous non telemetry screen next time I turn it ON.. I'm quite sure it did save it before?

Thanks

João

EDIT: er9x 128 and 2561
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
andrewju
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: er9x development

Post by andrewju »

MikeB wrote:Just posted a test version (of the .exe) with this fixed (I hope)
Confirmed, it is fixed!
Thanks!!!
andrewju
Posts: 784
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: er9x development

Post by andrewju »

jhsa wrote:er9x is not saving the main screen when a telemetry screen is selected, even after the radio is ON for a long time.. It reverts back to the previous non telemetry screen next time I turn it ON..
I think er9x never "remembered" to start on a telemetry screen... I don't know for sure, but I recall I had a question about it some time ago. But then I though it's not a big deal anyway, so I decided not to ask... :)
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

I had the idea it did remember the last screen because when I tried opentx I remember thinking that was one of advantages of er9x as I never had to change to a telemetry screen everytime I turned the radio ON, or so I thought.. I know that ersky9x works that way. Maybe I'm confused but the more I think about it, the more I am sure er9x was like that too ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

When you change screens, most of the time, an EEPROM write is scheduled. You can tell this by the flashing bar in the top left corner. I just tried this and it works, and remembered to start in the telemetry screen. There looks to be a special case where this doesnt happen. If you get to the telemetry screen by pressing LONG DOWN, then the EEPROM write is not scheduled. Just try a quick UP and DOWN, and see if the flashing bar appears. If it does, then wait for it to disappear before switching off.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by bob195558 »

One of my 9x's still has an older version: V1.2429-Mike / Date: 10.01.2015 / SVN: er9x-r816 / FRSKY NT on it
and it is not saving last screen when powering off and then on again.
I also like it when it dose save the last screen, but its not something that needs to be a must have for me.
May be because it saves some flash ? :?:
9Xtreme upgrade will change it anyway! :)

Bob B.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).
User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: er9x development

Post by bob195558 »

Tried what Mike said and telemetry screen every time now.
Er9x on 9x radio, with Smartieparts Programmer and TelemetrEZ Board.
ErSky9x on Taranis, Sky9x, 9Xtreme radios.
3D-Printing: (https://openrcforums.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=129).
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Post by jhsa »

Mike, that was the problem thanks. I was going to the telemetry screen by pressing long down as it is quicker. Would it be possible to save the telemetry screen also when using the long down key press?
What about implementing this per model instead of general? At least on 128 and 2561 if not possible on the m64?? :)

Another situation..
when selecting a switch by moving the physical switch, we just highlight the field and turn the switch to the desired position. This position is selected. But we need to move the cursor away from the switch field so we can turn it OFF again.. Well, most of the times I turn it OFF immediately as the radio starts speaking, or do whatever is told to. Then I have to go back and do it all again. My suggestion is to press menu, field blinks, select switch, press menu and field stop blinking and can't be edited with the switch anymore. Now you can turn the switch off again and the field wouldn't be changed.. This is a minor thing but it just feels a bit more intuitive. at least it does to me :)

Thank You

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
playlet
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 8:14 pm
Country: -

Re: er9x development

Post by playlet »

Hi!

Latest er9x.hex (mute1) has a bug in it. Radio Setup - Controls menu: Name Rud, Name Ele, Name Thr, Name Ail can't be selected/changed since the cursor is invisible. (m64).

Br, Ivan
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 17993
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: er9x development

Post by MikeB »

I had this reported elsewhere, and have the fix for it. I'll try to build and post some test versions tomorrow. Life is being a bit busy at the moment, and I'm also working on the 9Xtreme prototype.
You should be able to edit the names in eepe for now.

Mike.
erskyTx/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 19480
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: er9x development

Post by jhsa »

Er9x 2561 with serial voice and PB1 and PB2, latest test version.
Can't configure a switch in the trainer menu. Can only select 2 or 3 switches.
m128 with voice on LCD lines seems to work ok.

Will download the eeprom when I get home and see if I can program the trainer in eepe..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”