Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15220
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by MikeB » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:50 am

They shouldn't be needed, but I haven't put the support code into er9x for the encoder from the TelemetrEZ yet.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:21 pm

Eagerly awaiting the TelemetryEZ support. ;-)
Along with all the other projects you are working on.... no worries... whenever you get to it, you get to it.
Wish there was something we can do to assist.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by gohsthb » Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:43 pm

r782 supports the encoder from a telemetrEZ. See the [url=http://openrcforums.com/wiki/index.php/TelemetrEZ]guide[\url] in the wiki.
-Gohst

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:36 pm

Hello Gang,
I just finished the addition of the Rotary Encoder to my T9x but I not 100% sure how to wire it to the TelemEZ...
Does anyone have pics to follow? I know the wiki it there... but a picture is worth 1000 words.
I promised to build a guided How-To once complete.

The switch placement came in really snug, works great for clicking.
IMG_2439.jpg
The Encoder is nice and flush.
IMG_2440.jpg
I have four wires coming out of the PCB so that I can connect to the appropriate location.
IMG_2441.jpg
Cable Placement
cabl.jpg
cbal3.jpg

Thanks in advance,

Pino.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Buckmaster » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:34 pm

I just finished the physical part of this mod yesterday and haven't had a chance to flash the new firmware yet. Unless someone beats me to it, I can tell you where I put my wires once I get it flashed, just need to verify everything works before I go running off at the mouth. ;)


User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by gohsthb » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:43 pm


User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:37 am

@Buckmaster, thanks...
@gohsthb... thanks as well, but that is what I had when trying to start this... if you have this completed... could you just take a picture of your TeZ board and where the wires are connected? I am very visual. ;-) If it is not too much trouble.

Thanks again.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:47 am

WiringDiag.jpg
Wiring Diagram PCB
Is this right?

EDIT: added the Labels for PCB.

As per the DataSheet
Screen Shot 2013-02-08 at 8.24.03 AM.png
DataSheet
Screen Shot 2013-02-08 at 8.24.03 AM.png (33.13 KiB) Viewed 2779 times
Last edited by LTMNO on Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by gohsthb » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:40 am

Might be good if you labeled the other side of the connections too. The a, b, and switch.
-Gohst

Sent from my LG-P999 using Tapatalk 2

Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Buckmaster » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:19 am

LTMNO, that is how I have mine hooked up and it all seems to work good. Sorry it took so long to respond, I had to pull my radio apart to see what I put where after I got the firmware flashed. Time to throw it back together ....... its well past my bedtime ;)

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:29 pm

Edit: Update the Photos/PDF's to the proper layout thanks to Buckmaster
WheelBoard v2 original.pdf
Based on this Original PCB Layout (Not sure who's it is?)
(11.44 KiB) Downloaded 112 times
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO.jpg
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO.pdf
Printable Version
(311.74 KiB) Downloaded 100 times
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO Mirrored.jpg
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO Mirrored
WheelBoard v2 LTMNO Mirrored.pdf
Printable Version Mirrored
(309.59 KiB) Downloaded 99 times
Last edited by LTMNO on Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Buckmaster » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:29 pm

I think you had it right the first time (the actual photo with "wires" drawn in). The order of the wire from let to right on the 4 pads on the pcb should go to H - G - I - 0v respectively. I think you have H & G inverted on your last post. (No big deal if you hooked them up that way, the encoder wheel would just cause inverted movement and you would have to switch the two wires). Of course my eyes are starting to cross at this point so maybe I'm looking at it wrong ;)

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:38 pm

Ha, thanks Buckmaster.... I was thinking that when i reviewed the post in the wiki and i was just trying to follow it again... respectively it says, A B and G H
That is why the picture is worth a thousands words....
;-)

Thanks, I will fix the diagrams and repost. (if you are 100% confirmed on that) ;-)

Pino.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:54 pm

Thanks, updated the previous post...
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

Buckmaster
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2012 4:53 pm
Country: -
Location: New Lenox, Il

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Buckmaster » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:13 pm

Te he..... I wouldn't say 100% confirmed.... ;) Even though I did confirm it. My eyes start to cross late at night :). I have a little more difficulty following my wires than you are likely to... I used wires on all my connections and had to double up on a couple colors because only had 10 colors, and at the time I thought I needed 12 wires. Turns out I only needed 9 wired, but guess which two wires are the only ones still doubled up?? Yepperz, the ones we are talking about now :( I left those two the same color because if any two were inverted I figured those two would cause the slightest issue, and since I have put a header on my TelemtrEZ they would be the easiest to swap. I'm very confident that's where they go though. Now I just have to wait for my smaller plugs to arrive since I don't need all those wires. Then I can tidy up my mess.

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1044
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by LTMNO » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:52 pm

LOL... well, I just finished my MOD now, I have not flashed or turned on the radio to check yet.
I will try that later this evening when I get a chance.
IMG_2454.jpg
IMG_2452.jpg
Now that is an Idea... putting a header on there.. I have many of those.

Thanks.

Edit: works great. Wiring is correct. Pictures correct. Wiki updated.

Thx
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:12 pm

any one has a diagram of the wheel encoder connection from the board to the stock PCB board (M64 pin 44,45,46)?
I saw Mike's wiki, the only thing I could not find, or some how I missed it, is which wire goes to which pin, besides the common goes to a +5V.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17453
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:03 pm

It says on the viki. the omportant is that you know where the center button goes.. the other 2 you swap if they're not right.. That's how i did it anyway.. I was luck this last time but not the first time and Had to swap the wires :D. Go with the viki. or try the first post on this thread.. Mike explains it really well there..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:24 pm

that is what I am asking 'bit 5,6,7' related to pin 44,45,46. which is which? My Nerdish is not that good yet. :mrgreen:

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17453
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:44 pm

Form Mike's first post:
Bits 7 and 6 are the encoder (A and B) signals, bit 5 is the switch signal. As different encoders may have the A and B signals connected differently it may be necessary, after assembly, to swap these two connection over to get the correct operation.
As you can see in the picture, Pin46 is PA5 (bit 5).. the others PA6 and PA7 (bits 6 and 7) are pins 44 and 45.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
I also had to look for it when I did mine.. ;)

No, really, it is not easy.. if the encoder goes the other way you have to swap pins 44 ands 45.. good luck, you have 50% chance of being right..

or wrong.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Cheers,
João
Attachments
ATMEGA64-pinout.jpg
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:57 pm

thx. that is what I am looking for. I guess just cut the two wires in the middle and resolder them would do the job if falls into the wrong side of 50%. ;) Now I just need to find the 3K7 resistor. I assume that is 3700 ohm? K is 1000 here not 1024?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17453
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by jhsa » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:06 pm

3K9, 3900 ohm..
Why don't you do something like Mike did? a little bit of strip board.. Like that you just have to swap the wires that come from the encoder and don't have to touch the ones that go to the processor.. That's what I also did.. and the resistors are on that board..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:04 pm

No bread board for me. remember I have to buy everything even it is a once cent piece. But I will use servo connector pins that I have a few. ;)

now back to the web searching for 3K9 resistors.

Iksbob
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:06 pm
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Iksbob » Sun Feb 17, 2013 2:11 am

kaos wrote:now back to the web searching for 3K9 resistors.
http://www.digikey.com/scripts/dksearch ... itcontents

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 17, 2013 3:30 am

What :o 14.95 for 365 pieces 3K9 resistor. I think I can eat them as peanuts with beer. :lol: :lol:

thx Iksbob. Actually, I was looking for smd version but found out they are 1.50 a piece at radioshack. then I thought why not just regular resistor. Just got back from radio shack got myself 5 3K9 in a bag for 1.50. ;) Hope I will get this done before the wkend is over. :)

Iksbob
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:06 pm
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by Iksbob » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:16 am

Eheh... No, that's 14.95 for 5 3K9 resistors. ^_^

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 17, 2013 4:28 am

Ah, read it too quickly, it is 365 pieces total each kind of 5. that is a lot of different flavored peanuts for sure. Need a few different brands of beer to match it. :mrgreen:

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 17, 2013 5:30 pm

OK, before I power it up and fry my cpu, I want to make sure that the 'common' (the top right 1st connection point) of the I/H board is hooked up to the +5V line as described by MikeB (if I read it correctly.). I am a little concerned about this. because for SKY9x V.B board that spot is connected to the 'gnd' for the encoder port. I know the circuits are different, but just want to make sure. Frying the cpu does not bother me as much as I have to redo all 6 single wire to the cpu legs. THAT is a pain. ;) Dang, solder 6 wires in a row to the cpu is not fun. Took me all night to get it right.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17453
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by jhsa » Sun Feb 17, 2013 6:02 pm

don't worry, you would get a chance to replace it with an m128 :D

Yes, on stock board it connects to 5V as per Mike's schematic..If we're talking about the same wire of course.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
kaos
Posts: 3247
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 1:15 am
Country: United States

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by kaos » Sun Feb 17, 2013 7:57 pm

thx, by the end of the day, we will see if the wheel is spinning or the smoke coming out. :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”