Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

er9x is the best known firmware. It has a superb range of features and is well supported by the community. Well worth trying out.
User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by OctavioS » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:55 am

Mike, I've done that. So I changed the wire layout rotary-gnd-switch-rotary, and the exact same problem persisted. So I changed the wires to gnd-rotary-switch-rotary and the same problem happens. :| :? :|
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15528
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by MikeB » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:11 am

My best suggestion now is to only have wires on Gnd and the switch (based on rotary-gnd-switch-rotary when looking at the copper tracks), then check the resistance between these two wires is open circuit normally and goes to short circuit when the centre button is pressed. If that is correct, then connect the Gnd and switch wires to the Arduino and see if the centre switch operates as expected.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17663
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by jhsa » Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:32 am

To check the arduino is working correctly, why not forget the encoder for now and just connect a normal switch instead?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by OctavioS » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:16 pm

The board i have is different from the one above.
IMG_20161209_093238.jpg
So you say that in this disposition, i remove the rotary wires and resolder gnd and switch to the layout you said and do the measuring.
right?
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15528
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by MikeB » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:24 pm

Ah, a different board. Where did you get that one from?
Do you have a switch you could use to try João's suggestion, i.e. wire just a switch to the Arduino connecting to Gnd and IO4.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!


andrewju
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by andrewju » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:22 pm

If you are talking about the rotary encoder PCB, that one is from me. Electrically, it's pretty much the same as all the others. It's just that the color is blue, but I don't think it affects electrical conductivity in some unexpected way. :)
This design is tested on a number of radios (stock mainboard and AR9x), including my own radio. I never heard of any issues with it.

P.S. I think I need to go and re-read through the last few pages to understand what the original issue is...

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 576
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by OctavioS » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:23 pm

I have got this board from Andrewju, a Russian member from this forum.
I will have to speak to João to help me out with this switch thing.
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

andrewju
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by andrewju » Fri Dec 09, 2016 7:51 pm

Ok, I read through the recent conversation. I'm sorry I missed it.

The only time I have seen troubles with the encoder is when there was a poor soldering / no electrical connection between the encoder switch and its PCB. I'm not sure, but I suspect it might be a similar case here. OctavioS, is there any chance to get a good photo of the solder joints on the encoder PCB? Maybe you took a photo before you soldered the encoder to the mainboard?

MikeB wrote:On the PCB itself, you have:
Rotary - Rotary - Switch - Gnd.
I think these should be:
Rotary - Gnd - Switch - Rotary.
Mike, I'm pretty sure the first option (Rotary - Rotary - Switch - Gnd) should be correct.

andrewju
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2012 7:29 am
Country: Russian Federation
Location: Moscow

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by andrewju » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:41 pm

OctavioS, can you make one more test, please? There's no need to put the radio back together or power it ON. It's Ok to have just the mainboard alone for this test.

Please measure the resistance between the crimson and the yellow wires (I marked them with the red arrows):

Image

Measure the resistance. You should get some large value (kiloOhms or even megaOhms).
Then, press the central encoder button, keep it pressed and measure the resistance again. This time the resistance should be close to 0.

crashcanopy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:51 am
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by crashcanopy » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:00 am

Hi,
sorry for bringing this old thread up. I'm currently scratch building a Meag128 based radio. It should go into the case of NE 5JR that has two push Buttons and a Rotary Encoder with Center button.
I'm using a more recent Artronic LCD, which runs on 5V. Therefore I don't have voltage divider on the LCD lines. Now, in order to use the encoder, I added a 10k pulldown resistor to LCD bits 5-7. If I use a 1.5k resistor for the push button, it works (neither 3.3 nor 3.9k did). Voltage is high when pressed, so above 3.5 Volts. Else it is Close to 0V. LCD is working normally, then.
I can't get the rotary contacts to work though. I've tried resistor from 3.9k down to 47Ohm in line. No reaction at all. Without any resistor in line (so 5V directly), the LCD "reacts" with weird behaviour. It does this also when I try the button without resistor.
By researching the web, I'm left with the assumption that the encoder has some internal resistors, but I'm not sure and as I have no scope, I can't measure it.
Can anybody show me the right direction?

Cheers, Stefan

crashcanopy
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 10:51 am
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by crashcanopy » Thu Mar 09, 2017 5:25 pm

Hi,
found it myself. Besides the pulldown a pullup via teh Encoder was required with not more than 2.2k and both had to be connected and the in line resistor (5.1k) to the LCS was required. A mixture of Problems. Especially the latter (LCD resistor) was something I had never thought about ;-)

Cheers, Stefan

User avatar
feihu47
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:02 pm
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by feihu47 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:04 pm

I have a question for the experts here. I recall that on the original stock firmware of the Turnigy 9x one of the pots (P2 I think) was able to be used as a sort of rotary switch for scrolling through the alpha/numeric menus. I see all the rotary encoders you all have installed as beyond my level of capability and wondered if it's possible to map the P2 pot to act in the same way? I have a T9x with the 9Xtreme board version r218 of Ersky9x.

User avatar
feihu47
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 9:02 pm
Country: -

Re: Stock/er9x Rotary Encoder

Post by feihu47 » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:46 pm

Never mind, I found it in the wonderful Ersky9x videos by João. Thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “er9x”