OpenTX 2.1 released!

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17914
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by jhsa » Tue Jul 28, 2015 11:27 am

I'm not sure if opentx has something similar but in ersky9x you have scalers.
Select your telemetry source to a scaler, multiply it and/or divide it the way you want it, give it an offset, make it a positive or negative value, select how many decimal values and give it a name. Then use it wherever you need to. Mixer, voice, etc..

About dividing the total voltage by the number of cells, and speaking for myself, i wouldn't do it. If the pack is unbalanced and one of the cells is much lower than the others, the radio will report a much higher cell voltage than what really is. The result would be a damaged battery and possibly a crashed model :) :) But each to his own :D

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:12 pm

Hexperience wrote: But, more importantly for me, is RPM ÷ gear ratio = rotor speed.
RPM sensor handling already caters for that case, you've got "blades" (divider) and a multiplier so you can enter your ratio.
Hexperience wrote: Besides, opentx is flexible right? If I want to hear the total voltage ÷ 4 (or what ever cell count) who's to say that is wrong? Opentx = freedom
cheers!!
No problem, you're free to implement a divide formula and submit a pull request to have it included!

User avatar
Hexperience
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Keswick, Ont. Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Hexperience » Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:45 am

Thanks. So how could I enter something like 12.6 as a gear ratio?
Cheers
Sky9X: One radio to rule them all, and in the darkness BIND them.

User avatar
Hexperience
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Keswick, Ont. Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Hexperience » Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:53 am

As for the voltage division. If you are getting only telemetry on the total pack voltage, which a lot of people do, then the same thing applies about 1 cell could go bad. Heck most people fly with a timer and nothing else.

All I am saying is that rather than hearing the total voltage I want to hear the total voltage but in the form of a single cell average. So whether I am on 4 or 3 cells I always hear "3.9v" or whatever.

I switch between 3,4 and 6 cell helis and thinking in terms of average cell voltage makes it easy. It doesn't mean that I'll fly any longer than I normally do.
Sky9X: One radio to rule them all, and in the darkness BIND them.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17914
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by jhsa » Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:16 pm

I understand what you mean ;) if only to hear the voltage being spoken, but to setup an alarm I wouldn't use the divided value as that value is not the real value from the lowest cell..
If you don't have a sensor that monitors all cells the alarm should be set using the total value.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:45 pm

Hexperience wrote:Thanks. So how could I enter something like 12.6 as a gear ratio?
126 blades, multiplier 10.

User avatar
Hexperience
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Keswick, Ont. Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Hexperience » Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:13 pm

Thank you again... sorry but how do I set the multiplier? We're talking about 2.0.x right? Do I need to be on 2.1 ?

Thanks again!!
Sky9X: One radio to rule them all, and in the darkness BIND them.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Thu Jul 30, 2015 3:18 pm

No, we're in the "OpenTX 2.1 released" thread... So all of these discussions are about 2.1.

flierman1945
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by flierman1945 » Thu Jul 30, 2015 6:02 pm

I tried the latest release earlier this week. Most of the changes seem understandable. But when it comes to the telemetry, I am just lost. I can get my devices detected, but am finding it so difficult to work out power, mah etc. I think this release has taken open tx out of the comfort zone for many ordinary users. I gave up and reverted to 2.0.17 which seems so simple to set up and use.
Any other users finding this new release tough going????

User avatar
Hexperience
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Keswick, Ont. Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Hexperience » Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:28 pm

Kilrah wrote:No, we're in the "OpenTX 2.1 released" thread... So all of these discussions are about 2.1.
I know, I just wasn't sure if the multiplier was also in the 2.0 firmware.

I have only gone through 2.1 in companion, it's not on my tarranis yet.
Sky9X: One radio to rule them all, and in the darkness BIND them.

User avatar
Hexperience
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:48 pm
Country: -
Location: Keswick, Ont. Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Hexperience » Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:35 pm

jhsa wrote:I understand what you mean ;) if only to hear the voltage being spoken, but to setup an alarm I wouldn't use the divided value as that value is not the real value from the lowest cell..
If you don't have a sensor that monitors all cells the alarm should be set using the total value.

João
If you're not monitoring individual cells there is no difference between 11.1v and 11.1v ÷ 3. (I know there is a little difference due to decimal places)

Anyway, it's not a big issue at all, just a preference.

Cheers!
Sky9X: One radio to rule them all, and in the darkness BIND them.

Jeffrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:10 am
Country: Australia

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Jeffrey » Mon Aug 03, 2015 10:14 am

I'm new to OpenTX.
I have installed OpenTX Companion 2.1 on my computer and Firmware OpenTX-Taranis-en-2.1.0.bin on my taranis X9D radio.
When I finished the model and settings in companion I connected the radio to the computer two windows appear.
Taranis (E) eeprom.bin Date modified 21/10/2010
Firmware.bin Date Modified 21/10/2010
The other folder is the SD folders.
When I click on the write model and settings to radio a window appears I checked all the boxes and click write to TX the following occurs.
Error. Invalid Model and Settings file C:/Users/JEFFRE~1/AppData/Local/Temp/1932-bin.
Warning. The radio firmware belongs to another product family, Check file and preferences!
I can't see any preferences in the file menu in companion 2.1
Would this problem have any thing to do with Taranis (E) files with the old modified dates?

Thanks
Jeff

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:12 am

I don't understand if you're using an X9D or X9E.
Jeffrey wrote: I can't see any preferences in the file menu in companion 2.1
This means "check you're using the correct file" and "check the settings in companion preferences match the radio type you're trying to flash".

Jeffrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:10 am
Country: Australia

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Jeffrey » Tue Aug 04, 2015 9:30 am

I'm using X9D the first taranis the one before pro.
In companion settings, radio type I selected OpenTX for FrSky Taranis.
What do you mean check you're using the correct file what file are you referring to.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:54 am

The firmware you've downloaded, check that it matches the right radio type (many people try to flash a Taranis Plus firmware to a Taranis or vice-versa, which is why the check was implemented).

The check is however faulty in 2.1.0, so once you've made sure the file is the right one you might still get the error. If you do, disable it.

dermo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:06 pm
Country: Ireland
Location: Dublin

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by dermo » Tue Aug 04, 2015 10:36 pm

Not sure if this is a real issue or just my stupidity but I am unable to adjust a global variable in special functions using a slider. I am unable to select any slider, pot or channel in the list using the transmitter. Am I doing something wrong or is it a bug? I am following this guide ... viewtopic.php?f=96&t=4852

OpenTX 2.1.0 EEPR 217 on Taranis X9D.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Wed Aug 05, 2015 5:58 am

Global Functions cannot adjust or access anything model-specific.

dermo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:06 pm
Country: Ireland
Location: Dublin

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by dermo » Wed Aug 05, 2015 7:09 am

No, I am not in global functions but am in model specific special functions

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:45 am

Ah. Works here, did you do the "long enter" on the source field?
Attachments
screenshot-1.png
screenshot-1.png (1.34 KiB) Viewed 6100 times

dermo
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 8:06 pm
Country: Ireland
Location: Dublin

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by dermo » Wed Aug 05, 2015 4:06 pm

Thanks Kilrah, I don't know how but I had missed the 'long press' on the source field to cycle through options. Works fine now.

enio
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by enio » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:35 pm

I can update the firmware of my old Taranis (not Plus) by the new Open Tx 2.1.0 ?
If this is not possible which would be the last version which may be updated ?

Thank You

WZ9V
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:29 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by WZ9V » Thu Aug 06, 2015 7:57 pm

Yes you can. I put 2.10 on my "B" model original Taranis no problem

2.0.17 would be the best 2.0 as its the latest (at this time)
enio wrote:I can update the firmware of my old Taranis (not Plus) by the new Open Tx 2.1.0 ?
If this is not possible which would be the last version which may be updated ?

Thank You

Jeffrey
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:10 am
Country: Australia

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Jeffrey » Sat Aug 08, 2015 1:59 am

Kilrah wrote:The firmware you've downloaded, check that it matches the right radio type (many people try to flash a Taranis Plus firmware to a Taranis or vice-versa, which is why the check was implemented).

The check is however faulty in 2.1.0, so once you've made sure the file is the right one you might still get the error. If you do, disable it.

Thankyou Kilrah, It's working fine.
I'm trying to setup a FeiyuTech FY41AP Autopilot. The remote control settings for SW1 & SW2 switchs. SW1 3 position switch for Deactivated; Stable & 3D, SW2 3 position switch for RTL; Null & ADH. How do you setup the switchs in OpenTX to communicate with the FY41AP.

Jeffrey

User avatar
OctavioS
Posts: 578
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 11:54 pm
Country: Portugal
Location: Madeira

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by OctavioS » Tue Aug 11, 2015 11:31 pm

Im having this issue: viewtopic.php?f=45&t=7348
3 x - 9X TX with 9xtreme board;
Turnigy 9XRpro ;
Frsky Taranis & Taranis +;
Horus x10s;
Horus x12s.
Too much radios? Yes too much damn radios. No more please.

"Sometimes you just have to take a leap and build your wings on the way down."

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by ReSt » Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:05 pm

I'm still on an old 9x.

I compiled 2.1.1 and found that the timer voices are incorrect now, for e.g. 02:30 it says 2 hours 30 minutes instead of 2 minutes 30 seconds.
Generally it says hour instead of minute and minute instead of second.

It runs fine with 2.0.17

Reinhard

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Sat Aug 22, 2015 1:07 pm

You need to update your voice files, numbering has changed to make room for additional units.

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by ReSt » Sat Aug 22, 2015 5:39 pm

I downloaded the OpenTx 2.1 voice files and the csv sheet for 9x-128 from open.tx.org ("english-english-stock").

I can see, that the files starting with 480 and above have changed.
But the hours, minutes, seconds files have stayed untouched at 399 to 404.

The files seem to be from march, so either they have not been updated to reflect r2.1 or they have some errors.

I forgot to mention, that I have modified the countdown of the last minute to give more frequent voices and all these calls use the "AUDIO_TIMER_MINUTE(val)" function. (working well in the recent releases, up to 2.0.17)

btw. the "english-english-stock.zip" file contains 6 files of 46 bytes length. They do not play very well :)
(264 -> eight, 366 ->and, 373->amp, 395 ->foot, 377 and 378 I don't know what they should contain)

Reinhard

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by Kilrah » Sun Aug 23, 2015 12:32 pm

AFAIK sound stuff isn't supposed to have changed at all between 2.0 and 2.1 on non-ARM platforms. Nobody in the team however has hardware to test and we haven't had any feedback yet, so if there's an issue your report (with official version) will be welcome.

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by ReSt » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:26 pm

I traced it down to \radio\src\translations\tts_en.cpp

enum EnglishPromts{} has changed how it assigns numbers to the different variables.
When I use tts_en.cpp from 2.0.17, minutes and seconds of the timer are played, but with tts_en.cpp from 2.1.1 minutes and seconds are played as hours and minutes.

When I rename the wav files 0399.wav-0404.wav to 0397.wav-0402.wav hours and minuts are played correctly.

btw. the decimal numbers also have to be shifted up by five numbers to play. From 0416.wav-0425.wav up to 0421.wav-0430.wav.

As I'm really not familiar with Git and how to download a clean database, this is what I did:
I did a Git Clone (downloads around 106MB)
From there i did a 'Tortois Git' - 'Export' with Tag 2.1.1 into a zip file that I unpacked into an empty directory.
and a make clean and make PCB=9X128 EXT=STD HELI=YES TEMPLATES=YES AUDIO =YES GTAPHICS=YES CURVES=YES
had the same problems with the timer values.

Reinhard

User avatar
crash22
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2013 7:00 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.1 released!

Post by crash22 » Sun Aug 23, 2015 3:41 pm

Would that explain why i don't get any decimal readouts anymore with 2.1.1?

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”