OpenTX 2.0.0

openTx has introduced a range of new features, ideas and bling. It is fast becoming the firmware of choice for many users. openTx will run on ALL current hardware platforms, including the gruvin9x and sky9x boards. Work has already started to support the new FrSky X9D radio!
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9557
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:12 am

There's no way for companion (or the firmware for that matter) to know the type of the connected radio, so no we can't have a verification.

badzz
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 9:30 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by badzz » Fri Jun 27, 2014 10:22 am

Kilrah wrote:There's no way for companion (or the firmware for that matter) to know the type of the connected radio, so no we can't have a verification.
But taranis plus profile should not break on a taranis, right ?

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9557
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jun 27, 2014 11:00 am

Yes it will, the mainboard is different with several things wired to the processor differently, LCD is different etc. So they're not interchangeable.

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Scott Page » Sun Jun 29, 2014 2:46 am

The microSD card image I have been maintaining is now updated to include folders for LUA including the files for the wizard. It's set-up for version 2.0.3 or later. The link is https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/178 ... icroSD.zip
The image is still missing the new 2.0 sounds in the system folder as this image has the Amber sounds. I'll address this soon.

ImRich
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:25 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by ImRich » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:01 pm

I don't know if this is an issue with OpenTX 2.x or if something else.

Can someone look at this post: viewtopic.php?f=97&t=5741&p=81562#p81339

How do I get a Spectrum DSMX module to go into RANGE CHECK mode? I can't seem to get it to work on my Taranis.

Thanks for looking at the other thread.


User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by LTMNO » Mon Jun 30, 2014 5:44 pm

Hello Scott, great quality sounds...
Is there another soundpack voice in the mix? I am afraid that my wife might catch me in my office behind closed doors with your sound pack and think i am having an affair.
I have to say the quality is very good... crisp, clear and life like.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Scott Page » Tue Jul 01, 2014 1:23 am

LTMNO wrote:Hello Scott, great quality sounds...
Is there another soundpack voice in the mix? I am afraid that my wife might catch me in my office behind closed doors with your sound pack and think i am having an affair.
I have to say the quality is very good... crisp, clear and life like.

That sound is VERY lifelike. It's Amber -- the wife of "theKM" in RC Groups. She has a great voice.

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by LTMNO » Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:00 am

Ha. Yes indeed. Personally I don't have that kind of relationship with my radio/models. Is there more of an updated stock voice? No offense intended. It's amazing he has that kind if support for his hobby. God bless them!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Scott Page » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:09 am

Yes.
6-30-2014 9-04-07 PM.jpg

User avatar
chapterone
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:10 pm
Country: Sweden
Location: Vastergotland

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by chapterone » Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:41 pm

In early Companion9x i was able to choose Firmware "openTx for Sky9x board / 9x.
Wich Radio Type in Companion OpenTX shall I use for my Sky9x board (ERSKY9x Board Rev B1) to load firmware Opentx 2.0.4.
I'm running OpenTX 2.0.1 for Mac.

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Audio File addtition to OpenTX 2.0

Post by LTMNO » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:13 pm

Hello All,
I am trying to add sound files via OpenTX companion to my Special Functions.
I see that Names are there now for the SD card files.
I add the following file :
stbl.wav
Stablize
(67.54 KiB) Downloaded 3444 times
Which was part of a sound pack and does not work.
I select the file in SF for stbl which is listed on my SD Card.
If I play the following file :
fltmode4.wav
Flight Mode 4
(66.61 KiB) Downloaded 3425 times
This works..
The only thing I can see different from either file is the Hz Rate of 32000 vs 22050.

Is this the root cause?

What is the format for files to be playing on Taranis.
Also, is there a guide out there describing?

I have seen the file generator.. I have tried it.. quality is just not there.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17921
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:24 pm

Pino, you gotta change the sample rate.. you must use 8, 16, or 32khz 16 bit.. 22khz doesn't work on boards with ARM processors anymore in opentx.. only with the 9x.
ersky9x works with 22khz still.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Scott Page
Posts: 864
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:32 am
Country: United States
Location: Tri-Cities, Washington State

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Scott Page » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:25 pm

You found the problem. Sounds must be rates of 8000hz, 16000hs, or 32000hz. You can change the original sound with a free open source program called audacity fairly easily. I've done that (took 10 seconds) and it's attached.
Attachments
stbl.wav
(98 KiB) Downloaded 3435 times

bertrand35
9x Developer
Posts: 2764
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 11:11 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by bertrand35 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:45 pm

jhsa wrote:Pino, you gotta change the sample rate.. you must use 8, 16, or 32khz 16 bit.. 22khz doesn't work on boards with ARM processors anymore in opentx.. only with the 9x.
ersky9x works with 22khz still.

João
Right, because ersky9x plays only one prompt or a beep at a time, while OpenTX is able mix prompts over tones or over a background music. There are up to 4 different audio levels mixed together! So the DAC has to keep a constant speed which is 32kHz. I could implement realtime resampling, but it would use more CPU for nothing, I prefer that we keep those 8/16/32kHz to avoid that ...

Bertrand

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17921
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by jhsa » Fri Jul 04, 2014 7:48 pm

Better explanation than mine :) thanks..
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

hageha
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:25 pm
Country: -
Location: Hildesheim

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by hageha » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:22 pm

I measure a 3 cell Lipo with a voltage divider
at "A2" of a "D8R-II plus" receiver.
Why I have to set, in the telemetry settings (10/10) from my Taranis (OpenTx 2.05 and before)
"FrSky S.PORT" to be able to read the values​​?
And not "FrSky D"

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15650
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by MikeB » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:26 pm

The XJT module only sends SPort telemetry to the main processor. In 'D' mode, it converts 'hub' data to SPort before sending.
So this setting is a function of the Tx module, not the protocol or the receiver.
If you use a 'real' XJT plug in module, the hub data is available on a connector on the back of the module.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

j0bro
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:34 am
Country: Netherlands
Location: Eindhoven

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by j0bro » Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:36 pm

Ah, I saw that too when I was setting up my model too with a D4R-II. I had to set it to S.PORT to get Hub/D telemetry going. Explain it left or right, but to the user that is wrong.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9557
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Kilrah » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:55 am

Next release will have that setting hidden anytime the internal module is on.

Envoyé de mon SM-G900F en utilisant Tapatalk

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by LTMNO » Fri Jul 11, 2014 1:02 pm

Thanks Scott & Joao, I thought I have tried that and the sound they didn't sound right..
I will try again.

Cheers!

Edit: I must have been doing something wrong.. works now... thanks!
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

OpenTx 2.0 on 9x/m128

Post by LTMNO » Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:31 pm

Question, when you in stall the OpenTx 2.0 FW on 9x/m128 do you have to setup the SD Card in the radio similar to the Taranis SD?
I have been trying to install 2.0FW and keep getting an error on verification.


Reading | ################################################## | 100% 1.07s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000
0x05 != 0x00
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done. Thank you.


=================================================================================
AVRDUDE done - exit code 1
=================================================================================

Granted this error has nothing to do with the SD Card.. but i can get the firmware install with AVRDUDE and not companion.. but just asking.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9557
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Kilrah » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:40 pm

There is no SD card on the 9x...

You might have a broken verison of avrdude companion tries to use. Check the patch.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17921
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by jhsa » Tue Jul 15, 2014 5:44 pm

Pino, the Sd card is only for the sound module and it has only the voice files.. to talk to the computer we need to connect the voice module to the computer using a serial adapter, remember?? ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by LTMNO » Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:36 pm

jhsa wrote:Pino, the Sd card is only for the sound module and it has only the voice files.. to talk to the computer we need to connect the voice module to the computer using a serial adapter, remember?? ;)

João
How I forget. Getting old.
Yes. Thought of that after an hr or so when I posted.
Just for sound module.
So m128 with OpenTX should work with 9x. Was just going to test the Taranis stick fix.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

AndreasR
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:39 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.8

Post by AndreasR » Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:54 pm

Hi,

1) I am using OpenTX 2.0.8. German on a Taranis. There are a few language related issues. How can I fix them?

2) Is there an english manual for OpenTX 2.0.8?

Thank you
Andreas

User avatar
dinamich
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:21 pm
Country: Slovenia
Location: Ljubljana

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by dinamich » Fri Aug 15, 2014 9:44 pm

for 1) you could join opentx developers and to corrections to translations yourself (see https://github.com/opentx/opentx/wiki/T ... thub-Guide) or post an issue on github https://github.com/opentx/opentx/issues and we will fix them

AndreasR
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:39 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by AndreasR » Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:22 pm

Hi dinamich,

I jast issued a github issue. Joining developers seemed to complicated and appears to require to install some software.

Cheers
Andreas

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by ReSt » Mon Sep 01, 2014 10:36 am

Is this only my problem?

I sometimes have (mental) problems when I want to use the custom functions and I believe I found whats making me the problems (TGY9X with M128).

There is an inconsistency between the custom functions and all the other menues.

While all the other menues have the target in the first column, custom functions have a source there and the target is in the next column

Would it be possible (or convenient) to rearrange the sequence of the fields, so that the functions, now in column 2 (that are the targets like Override, Trainer ...), appear in the first column and the switches that are in the first column appear to the right, just before the 'activate box' ?

Reinhard

Helle
Posts: 572
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 7:08 am
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by Helle » Tue Sep 02, 2014 11:25 am

Hy,
with Custom Funktion, Spezial Funktionen
you will only trigger a reaction
you set the condition an and then start the reaktion

SF1 SAv Sag Wert
SF2 SA- Start Log
SF3 SHv Reset Timer1 05:00
SF4 L1 Override CH1



......
Helle

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: OpenTX 2.0.0

Post by ReSt » Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:25 pm

you will only trigger a reaction
you set the condition an and then start the reaktion
That exactly is the point I mean.

In all other panels, the first column contains an Item (a channel, a switch, a name, a timer , a flight mode, ...) that gets the result of the conditions that follow. May it be a compare or a switch.
And normally, this first column item (the result) can be used as an input on other places.

Opposit to that, in the special/custom functions, the first column contains a switch that works on the conditions that follow. The result of that line will influence the (in the moment) second parameter, that is Override, Trainer, Inst.Trim ....
(I just recognize, that sometimes it is really the third parameter that is affected)

So for example instead of having a SF of

ID1 Override CH5 -99 x

a sequence of

CH5 override -99 ID1 x

would be more consistent with the way all the other panels work


Reinhard

Post Reply

Return to “openTx”