My Taranis Spektrum module

Choosing an RF Module? What modules work? What is compatible with the 9x?
Post Reply
aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:21 pm

Hi everyone.
First post here, please be gentle.

I'm very excited, having used a Dx4e Spekky module and put it in a case for a Taranis.
I wondered if anyone would be interested in a load of photos of my conversion?

From this:
IMG_2987.JPG
Through this:
IMG_3048-001.JPG
To this:
IMG_2993.JPG
Oh and just to check, am I inserting photos correctly?

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 18, 2014 3:59 pm

Oh also, have I posted in the wrong section?

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Flaps 30 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 4:47 pm

Topic moved.

Looks good.. More information would be nice. :)

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9562
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Kilrah » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:00 pm

It was at the right place since it's not specific to the Taranis. It's the same build we've been doing for the 9x too :)

User avatar
Flaps 30
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:04 pm
Country: -
Location: Wokingham Berkshire

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Flaps 30 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:12 pm

Noted.. Thanks Kilrah.. Shows that even us 'wrinkly' types around here can screw up. ;)


aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 18, 2014 5:17 pm

Thanks Flaps.
Just running a little short of time, so I'll post some pertinent facts.
The idea obviously is to make a module that uses native Spektrum serial data, allows in software choice od DSM2 or DSMX and has model match.


I've used the circuit from 9x_Full_Mod_DSM2/X

The RF module is from a DX4e transmitter.

When looking for a case, I found a Corona JR module for £7.95. It turns out that the case is just about perfect for this project.
An Frsky aerial cable had to be sourced to plug into the DX4e module, and provide a plug for the screw on aerial from the Corona.

So, here's the Corona module in the back of the Tx.
IMG_2990.JPG
The Corona module taken apart
IMG_2987.JPG
The 5 pin connector separated. This was harder than taking the RF module out of the Dx4e.
IMG_2997.JPG
Then a veroboard was made up, to fit the case, and a 3.3v supply built on it, along with the diode and resistor.
I also included the LED from the Corona, and a resistor for that to run off 3.3v
Just noticed there's a PSU capacitor missing from all these pics which has been added since.
IMG_3033-001.JPG
Finally the RF module was fitted.
IMG_3047-001.JPG
The Dx4e aerial was replaced with this FrSky cable.
FrSky cable.jpg
FrSky cable.jpg (7.51 KiB) Viewed 12035 times
All fits snugly in the case.
IMG_3036-001.JPG
And nice and neatly in the Transmitter.
IMG_3058-001.JPG
IMG_2991.JPG
Seems to work perfectly when DSM2 or DSMX are selected in the Taranis software, and the LED confirms it is powered at least.
Although I've yet to fly with it, a range test seems good.
Last edited by aV8erUK on Sun Mar 02, 2014 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pmullen503
Posts: 226
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 8:37 pm
Country: -
Location: Fond du Lac, WI

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by pmullen503 » Sat Jan 18, 2014 8:25 pm

Nice clean installation.

I just put a DX4 module in an empty DM9 module case. I used a HK 3.3v BEC and the 5 pin connector from the DX4's power LED strip to connect to the module pins. It works fine but there's lots of wires running here and there.

User avatar
Philipp
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Philipp » Mon Jan 20, 2014 2:09 pm

Very nice build, very nice photos as well! ;)
I'm looking forward for my DM9 case to arrive to do the same.
Do you know what voltage the SMPS on the original corona module PCB produced? Should be either 5V or 3V3. I wonder if it would be possible to use the existing PCB without the corona RF daughterboard instead of veroboard. :idea: One might have to add some botchwires on the bottom side of the PCB and to cut some traces, but it would still be a very nice module.

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:14 pm

I'm not sure about the voltage. Can you see anywhere in the photo that I could measure it? I could connect a battery into the input pads.

User avatar
Philipp
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Philipp » Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:32 pm

Image
I could be totally wrong with this, but this is my best guess. If you do not care about killing your unused corona board, feel free to check the voltages on it with a multimeter. Good points for measurements are the solderpads on the yellow capacitors. It should be safe to power the board with 6V up to 12V on the GND and BAT pads of the JR plug. You might want to start on the low side, although it should be able to handle 12V.

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Tue Jan 21, 2014 9:48 pm

Right, just had a measure.

With a 2S LiFe connected to BAT and GND, the capacitor that you've marked reads 4.2V, as does the one below it.

However the one top left, has 3.3V across it.

User avatar
Philipp
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Philipp » Wed Jan 22, 2014 6:32 pm

I was hoping for 3.3V. That is great, I think i will order one of these, too.
I would have to get another DX4e off ebay though :D
My DM9 JR replacement case arrived today, I'm exited to cut some veroboard for it ;)

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:31 pm

Update - I've flown with mine.

I gave up on the range check at around 40 paces. Then flew an EPP flying wing (just in case 'cos this one bounces).
No need to worry though, ever increasing circuits had it up to a height where I could only just see orientation.
No issues whatsoever :)
This was with an orange 6ch single antenna Rx, which I have had out of range in the past at less distance than this.
So all in all, very promising indeed.

smilerse
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:56 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by smilerse » Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:57 pm

Do you have a wiring diagram for your build and/or a picture of the backside of the finished vero board?

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Fri Jan 24, 2014 11:50 am

Hi smilerse, I'll knock up a quick diagram. Watch this space.

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:28 pm

OK, Here's a diagram of my module.
Hope it helps?
It would be really appreciated if someone could check it?
Speky module diag.jpg
I went from the diagram on this page

smilerse
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 5:56 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by smilerse » Fri Jan 24, 2014 6:20 pm

Thanks! Looks good to me.

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9562
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by Kilrah » Fri Jan 24, 2014 10:47 pm

Looks good to me too.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17927
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by jhsa » Fri Jan 24, 2014 10:56 pm

someone should put it on the wiki ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 25, 2014 12:02 am

jhsa wrote:someone should put it on the wiki ;)
Feel free, I don't know if or how I can do that.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17927
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 25, 2014 12:14 am

And I know nothing about this mod as I don't use the system :o :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 25, 2014 9:14 am

jhsa wrote:And I know nothing about this mod as I don't use the system :o :)
Er... OK ?? :?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17927
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:07 am

I read nearly every post on this forum so obviously I read this thread too. That doesn't mean that I use the system. I saw the post above and thought it's a good piece of information and it should go to the wiki, that's all. Of course it would be better done by someone that did the mod. I'm not being lazy here. I did a few wiki guides myself about mods that I have done. ;)

Joao

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:20 am

So is that something I can do then?

I'm really quite new to all this, OpenTX and everything. I find it such an amazing resource, and I'm still getting my head around the amount of collaboration.
I'd really like to give something back, even though it's pretty small.

Just now, I don't know where to start..
Is there maybe an "How to wiki" link?

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17927
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 25, 2014 11:38 am

I will let someone with a bit more wiki knowledge to step in at this point. I learnt by doing but it's been a while now. You can log in to the wiki using your forum name and password I think. Log in and have look around first without changing anything, just to see how it is done. That is what I did.

Joao

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by ReSt » Sat Jan 25, 2014 12:19 pm

I have collected some simple rules that can be used to begin with
Wiki Start.txt
Some simple Wiki rules for beginners
(1.73 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
Reinhard

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17927
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 25, 2014 12:33 pm

Thanks for that Reinhard. I wish I had that when I started :)
Very good info.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ReSt
Posts: 1459
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by ReSt » Sat Jan 25, 2014 6:00 pm

btw, what I do is, whenever I find an info here in the forum that looks like a good trick or something that I may need sometimes, I copy that info into a simple text-file, my "Tips and Tricks"
The only disadvantage is, that all kind of tips is mixed up and you have to verify if this information is still valid and will fit to your product. But at least you get an idea of what could be the solution.

My latest saved tip was e.g. "Reversing a stick", as this has been impemented just now and I had to search some time to find out how to do that :mrgreen:

Reinhard

User avatar
Philipp
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 9:01 pm
Country: -

Another diy DSMX JR module

Post by Philipp » Sun Jan 26, 2014 11:24 pm

I finally built my DSMX module, too.
I hope you don't mind me sharing it in your thread :)

It took me three attempts to get the veroboard cut right, everything else went smooth and easy.
I really like the outcome. It worked first try, almost plug and play 8-) Rangetesting is still due, but binding with an DSM2 R615 was very fast and solid.
[thumbnail=float-left]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_8.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_1.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_2.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_3.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_4.jpg[/thumbnail]
[thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_5.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_6.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_7.jpg[/thumbnail][thumbnail]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/157 ... _mod_9.jpg[/thumbnail]

aV8erUK
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:20 pm
Country: -

Re: My Taranis Spektrum module

Post by aV8erUK » Mon Jan 27, 2014 9:19 am

That looks good Philipp, and the case looks nice and authentic. :)

Post Reply

Return to “RF MODULES”