Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Programing help and example for all firmwares based on thus's th9 firmware.
Post Reply
TU144
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 1:42 pm
Country: -

Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by TU144 »

Hello.

I have plane that takes pictures with camera and servo pushing the shutter. But every time i want take a photo i have to push putton (trn).
But i'm intrested that is this software capable of to moving servo itself that i don't have to worry about that when i'm flying.
Example. I push a button and the series movment starts and if i pus button again then servo movment stops. The time between the servo meks moves by itself :) Every 5 seconds servo makes full movement and the picture is taken.

If it is not possible with the er9x software maybe someone has a great idea how i can make it possible some kind of other way :)

I hope you understand :)
Thanks...

User avatar
cre8tiveleo
Posts: 1434
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 6:13 pm
Country: -
Location: Ontario,(GTA North)
Contact:

Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by cre8tiveleo »

Look at the servo test template, and also there are other automated tamplates in the template area of this forum, including a search light movement and led flashing.

It can be done.
User avatar
Hegu78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57 am
Country: -
Location: Tammela
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Hegu78 »

cre8tiveleo wrote:Look at the servo test template, and also there are other automated tamplates in the template area of this forum, including a search light movement and led flashing.

It can be done.
Where is template area of this forum?

I try to achieve camera shutter function so that I have prepress for focus and then full press for shutter. Now it is done using curves but I have difficulties estimate when servo has done full movement and when I can release the switch. If switch is released too early will servo return to start too early.
Current mechanics, youtube: Bixler with pocket camera stand

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Y5v6Z_ar0IM
Henri
User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4543
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Rob Thomson »

Why not make your switch set the servo to go to max on one click.

Then... make a custom switch that sets it to 0 after it reaches max.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!
User avatar
Hegu78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57 am
Country: -
Location: Tammela
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Hegu78 »

Rob Thomson wrote:Why not make your switch set the servo to go to max on one click.

Then... make a custom switch that sets it to 0 after it reaches max.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
This sounds good but so far I don't know how it is done. I will try to learn this week.

I still need curves or something else for stopping servo just before endpoint for focusing. After focus time servo drives to the end and camera takes an image, then servo should drive back to start. Perhaps there is some other possibility to stop movement in specific point for focus?

I use normal unmodified pocket camera and press shutter with mechanics.

Henri

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by gohsthb »

This will at least allow you to flip a switch and take a picture. The servo will stop short of the end for about 2 seconds, then finish going all the way. Where it stops is controlled by the weight of the second mixer.

Code: Select all

+100% Full Switch(Thr)
-50% Half Switch(!Thr) Delay(u2:d0)
-Gohst
User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by gohsthb »

And here is something to study. I think this does what you originally asked for.
AutoCAM 0.eepm
Created in EEPE v368
(1.16 KiB) Downloaded 383 times
-Gohst
User avatar
Rob Thomson
Site Admin
Posts: 4543
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:34 am
Country: United Kingdom
Location: Albury, Guildford
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Rob Thomson »

Thanks... I sat down to work it out today - but got pulled away! :)

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Slope Soaring, FPV, and pretty much anything 'high tech'
...........if you think it should be in the wiki.. ask me for wiki access, then go add it!
User avatar
Hegu78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57 am
Country: -
Location: Tammela
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Hegu78 »

Name Autocam looks promising. I'll check it out this week.

Thanks!

Henri
User avatar
Hegu78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57 am
Country: -
Location: Tammela
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Hegu78 »

gohsthb wrote:And here is something to study. I think this does what you originally asked for.
The attachment AutoCAM 0.eepm is no longer available
-Gohst
Thanks gohsthb. This is nice start for making great camera shutter control. Now we have automation for camera focus and shutter and this is repeated all the time when RX/TX is on.

If this is developed a bit further it could be like this:

- If a physical switch is OFF, nothing happens
- If a physical switch is ON, this your autocam begins and continues as long as physical switch is ON
- If a physical switch is set OFF after ON, camera control stops

And something extra:
- When camera shutter servo has reached point where image is taken will warning be given. This tells for a pilot when nose could be pulled up before crashing. It could be really useful for instance if plane is flying towards a house and pilot tries to take an image from a house. I found this from er9x manual:"7. Warning: Here you can select an audible warning that will sound whenever a mix is active.
(This will only work when a switch is defined)."

For as a beginner this your autocam taught a lot and demonstrated how advanced programs can be done. Every step and mark needed to be checked from manual. I'll try to produce program I described but it will take time. All help would be very appreciated. I will share final program when it is ready and tested.

Henri
Attachments
Thanks to Gohst
Thanks to Gohst
Thanks to Gohst
Thanks to Gohst
User avatar
Hegu78
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:57 am
Country: -
Location: Tammela
Contact:

Re: Automated servo movement ... is it possible ?

Post by Hegu78 »

This version (autocam 2) has function that if ELE switch is ON then loop runs and if ELE switch is OFF loop runs but don't move camera servo. So far I didn't find way to stop loop, just bypass it.

Henri
Attachments
AutoCAM 2.eepe
(1.4 KiB) Downloaded 394 times

Post Reply

Return to “er9x / gruvin9x / th9 based firmwares”