Failsafe for Turnigy receivers

Programing help and example for all firmwares based on thus's th9 firmware.
gohsthb

Post by gohsthb »

I saw this in the Er9x development forum and decided to move it here.
buzz wrote:Hypothetical scenario:

Background:
* suppose I have a desire for "long range" ( think FPV etc)
* suppose my TX/RX are all stock hardware ( ie no FrSky etc )
* suppose I'm interested in having a failsafe, but don't care for digitial telemetry ( I have also a video downlink and OSD gives me this data)
* suppose I'm an embedded systems programmer ;-)

Plan:
I therefore want to implement an on-board microcontroller that can listen to data coming from RC ( eg, on a specific channel like channel 8 ), and all I want it to do is "trigger a failsafe" into my other on-board computer systems ( ArduPilot ) - which I can do by outputting a specific PWM value on a single channel. The ArduPilot can then switch mode/s, and turn the plane around , and fly it back to me. :-)

Idea:
I already know that in the event of signal loss, the stock turning RX "holds" the last known position of the servo/s, so following on from an idea got elsewhere [*], I want to make the TX ( running er9x) output a constantly varying stream of data on channel 8 ( eg, flipping constantly from PWM1000, to PWM2000 ). In the planned microcontroller that I'll plug into channel 8, it will simply watch for changing data, and if the incoming stream of data doesn't *keep changing* ( within a time limit of say 1 or 2 seconds), then it will change the output value to the appropriate fixed PWM value to signal RC link loss.

For other user/s without onboard flight-stabilisation, it could be as simple as connecting the PWM output to a servo that opens a parachute ( to prevent fly-aways), or the PWM output could be connected to the rudder,flap,aileron or whatever, so that the plane starts to "turn around", and hopefully come back into radio range.