wanted - base for feature adding

Not sure what firmware to use? Making a new firmware? Ask in here!
hamburger

Post by hamburger »

Hi,
I am new to t9x hacking. I want to add some sensors to the tx for input and replace the LCD with a touchscreen+color display. I need very customizable input mixing and assigning. (my background is some MultiWii hacking)

I can see a lot of work has gone into the various flavours of t9x firmwares. For me as a newcomer it is difficult to decide which one to pick as a basis to start using and coding. I have read parts of various threads, homepages, the new forum. But still have not enough facts to decide on. So I dare ask:
could some kind soul point me to and explain the different features/attitudes of the firmware variants, please? I have also started reading the new forum but did not find a concise answer.

by now I have
er9x - popular
ersky9x - board replacement (would like to try and stick with current board, if possible)
gruvin9x - frsky telemetry (will eventually use spektrum module, so does not apply?)
th9x - 1st alternative
radioclone - separate code base, unrelated.

Thanks.

erazz
9x Developer

Re: wanted - base for feature adding

Post by erazz »

They all are extremely customizable right "out of the box". If you could explain what you want to do more clearly we could probably point you in the right way.

There is no "right" fw. They all have their strengths and they all steal code from each other freely. Many functions you find in one you'd also find in the other.
Z

BEWARE - WE ARE IN THE AIR!!!
What goes up... Should be controlled by a 9X!
hamburger

Post by hamburger »

I want to do 3 things:
a)
'remove' the LCD and attach (via Serial; is ithat possible?) a color touchscreen. That device has possibility to offload some logic to its own cpu or I could use it to just display the GUI and send button events down to the t9x.
b)