Introducing: TelemetrEZ

All mods related to the frsky telemetry series of the firmware
User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9229
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:52 am

No.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17202
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 20, 2014 8:59 am

So you're saying that even with a D receiver we use PXX? I thought it wouldn't work.. obviously I was/am wrong ;)

Joao

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9229
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by Kilrah » Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:28 am

PXX is a way of communicating between radio and module. What's after that doesn't matter.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Sun Apr 20, 2014 9:41 am

The XJT always uses SPort protocol, on the module pin, for telemetry. If you use PPM to send control information to the XJT, the Tx will assume Hub protocol at 9600. You need to use PXX, then the Tx will switch to SPort telemetry protocol. You have a sub-protocol option of D16 (for X Rx) and D8 (for D Rx).

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17202
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by jhsa » Sun Apr 20, 2014 1:40 pm

Understood. ... I think. ;) thanks.

Joao

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Tapatalk
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:28 pm

Heavy rain here, so I've been implementing this idea:

Add an option to er9x to indicate TEZ revision xx or later fitted.
Change both the TEZ, and er9x to always use 57600 baud between them, indicated to er9x by the above option.
If the option is not set, then er9x will use 9600/57600 as needed (as now) in case of direct connection without the TEZ.
Add a command, over the serial, to the TEZ to tell it what baudrate to use to the module.

This all seems to be working at the fixed, higher, baudrate, including the command going back to set the baudrate to the module. With a fixed baudrate, we don't need the acknowledge, from er9x to the TEZ, any more, but I do send the required module baudrate command every tenth of a second. This makes sure the TEZ doesn't miss it.
Still to test it still works without the TEZ.

I did find a state er9x could get into where it lost sync. with the data from the TEZ, but I have added a test that spots this and gets back into sync.

Mike.

Edit: All seems to work with a direct connection as well.
Here are the files:
er9x-TEZ-57600.zip
20-Apr-2014 16:35
er9x-128, er9x-frksy, TEZ
With fixed (57600) baudrate between er9x and TEZ
(150.21 KiB) Downloaded 83 times
and the diff file:
diff1.zip
20-Apr-2014 16:35
(3.68 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by LTMNO » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:56 am

Thanks Mike, updated.. all working well... to Steven's point.. it did take the 15 seconds again for the AIL/THR to go away ;-)
Once I get my APM setup, I will get the Telem Data flowing.. will report back in a few days.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / Telemetry Mod / FrSky Lite Converter / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:41 am

Yes, I've seen that 15 second delay the first time after flashing the TEZ, then it seems to be fine!

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by gohsthb » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:23 pm

That delay is a built in thing to the software. If you flash the main board, the Tez detects that. Then disables itself for 15 seconds. Just so it doesn't interfere with the flashing process. If you power cycle the radio that delay shouldn't exist.
-Gohst

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:29 pm

The curious thing is I flashed the TEZ, not the main board, disconnected all power, then on power up, I got the 15 sec delay. After that, power ups were all OK. THis has happened more than once, and I think LTMNO has seen the same thing.

It's not a problem, just happens the once after flashing the TEZ.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by LTMNO » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:04 am

Yup, its not a problem but happens everytime i flash the TeZ.
I power off, boot up, wait 15 sec and the Ail/Thr go away.
Ever cycle after that is not a problem the Ail/Thr work right away, just the first time.

@ Mike, I see a new setting now on page (1/6)

TelemetrEZ>r90 OFF

Is this suppose to be set by me to ON?
I am running all the latest you posted.

Thanks.
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / Telemetry Mod / FrSky Lite Converter / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:47 am

Yes, this needs to be set to ON.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by LTMNO » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:10 pm

Forgive me for asking.. but i am drawing a blank here...
Please clarify?
Does the XJT Module + TelemetrEZ(latest) + SmartieParts_v4 + ER9x(latest) = Telemetry via SPort protocol/Port? ( this is all running on the M128 Modified Main Board )

I have been following this thread have not setup a Teensy3.1 with the appropriate firmware for Mavlink decoding via SPort to FrSky.
http://diydrones.com/forum/topics/amp-t ... 1#comments

Regardless of this Teensy3.1 piece in the puzzle here.. I am not seeing any Rx/Tx values to my radio from the X8R Rx.

That is strange, no?
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / Telemetry Mod / FrSky Lite Converter / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:26 pm

Please confirm you are using the TEZ and er9x firmware from the zip file a few posts back.
Check you have the protocol set to PXX and D16.
With the XJT module yuu won't see a Tx RSSI value, this is now a SWR value that should be a small number or zero.
How are you connecting the telemetry from the XJT module to the TEZ? You need wither pin 5 (bottom pin) of the module connector or the SPort signal pin on the back of the XJT, connected to the TEZ.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by LTMNO » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:32 pm

Mike, I just found another post you did on ERSky9x.
I just realized that I needed to put the bridge the Tx Pin on the Telemtry 5-PIN rack to the the Signal Pin on the SPort rack,
I am getting data now.
I am using the latest you have graciously provided to the forum.
Now to try to get meaning data, like Volts, etc...
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / Telemetry Mod / FrSky Lite Converter / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:53 pm

I tend to forget the wiring. I have modified my DJT to use pin 5, so my XJT just works the same, no extra wiring needed!

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by LTMNO » Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:03 pm

hmm, do you have a picture or sample of what that would look like?
I have an external XJT on my 9x...
The DJT doesn't support SPort right?
Do you mode the Module or inside the Radio?
9x-m128 / TeZ / SP Rev 2.4 / Rotary Encoder / Haptic / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / Telemetry Mod / FrSky Lite Converter / MegaSound9x(Serial) / er9x
9x-m128 / 9XTreme / ersky9x(Mavlink)

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Wed Apr 23, 2014 8:52 pm

ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

mrjoshua
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:25 pm
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by mrjoshua » Tue Apr 29, 2014 3:46 pm

So, I'm a bit confused! I'm using ER9X-frysky,SP2.3,TEZ,DHT DIY in my Turnigy radio. Installed a little more than one year ago and haven't used any of the telemetry options until now. A few weeks ago, I updated the firmware for the TEZ and the er9x-frksy. Do I need to update the 9x FW again with this FW in order for my TEZ to work properly?

er9x-TEZ-57600.zip20-Apr-2014 16:35
er9x-128, er9x-frksy, TEZ
With fixed (57600) baudrate between er9x and TEZ
Last edited by mrjoshua on Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

s_mack
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by s_mack » Tue Apr 29, 2014 4:37 pm

I don't understand what you mean by "Do I need to install this firmware". If you "updated" it, then you "installed" it. I would say, in your context, the terms are synonymous. Perhaps expand on your question.

mrjoshua
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:25 pm
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by mrjoshua » Tue Apr 29, 2014 5:16 pm

s_mack,
Just to be clear, I'm not saying that my TEZ is not working. I'm just trying to avoid any roadblocks while I try to get my telemetry working. So far, I can't even get the RX voltage on the screen, but I haven't really dug into it yet. I've been busy building and flying for the last year and the ER9X has worked flawlessly! I have had no reason to be surfing the forums until now. As I'm researching the telemetry, I see a lot of changes and want to be sure I cover all bases.

User avatar
gohsthb
Posts: 1412
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 2:32 pm
Country: -
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by gohsthb » Tue Apr 29, 2014 7:47 pm

The update in that firmware is mainly for xjt module support. You should update the tez to r86 I'd you haven't done that, but that is all you need.
-Gohst

Sent from my LG-D801 using Tapatalk

mrjoshua
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 5:25 pm
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by mrjoshua » Wed Apr 30, 2014 4:44 am

Thanks gohstb and s_mack, my telemetry is up and running...so sweet!

gftbak
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 5:56 pm
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by gftbak » Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:41 am

Hi all,

Is it normal my splashscreen (TGY X9 with smartieparts 2.4 + telemetrez + FRSKY DJT + OPENTX) disapeared after flashing the latest firmware to telemetrez?
It is not disabled in mij menu!

kind regards,
gftbak

Victor1995
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:22 am
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by Victor1995 » Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:34 am

Hey this might be off topic but with regards to flashing the TelemetrEZ board I was getting the error libusb0.dll Missing and many errors after that, I was able to fix it by installing WINAVR from http://www.ladyada.net/learn/avr/avrdude.html i was really happy with it.

User avatar
redline
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:52 am
Country: -
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by redline » Fri Aug 08, 2014 6:35 am

Easy question from a newb. About to install TelemetrEZ. Have programming port soldered on MOSI and MISO pads.
Will having the TelemetrEZ wires soldered on there as well cause and issues when flashing the 9x firmware ?

s_mack
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by s_mack » Fri Aug 08, 2014 2:13 pm

This is where a SmartieParts programmer is especially useful because the two are really a perfect pair for the task. The SP board is specifically designed to work with both devices. Logic circuitry completely disconnects the TelemetrEZ from the 9x during programming of the 9x (and similarly it disconnects the 9x when you use the SP board to program the TelemetrEZ, if you ever need to).

So you may need to do the same. I can't say with 100% certainty because I don't know exactly what programmer you're using or how you're choosing to power it, but the TelemetrEZ's connections very well may interfere with the programming of the 9x (ie. flashing) by being on the MISO/MOSI lines. That would mean either disconnecting the TelemetrEZ physically whenever you wish to flash the 9x, or else get fancy with gates or other logic devices to electrically disconnect the lines.

But first, just try it - its not going to hurt anything. Try it with it installed and if you run into problems, then disconnect the TelemetrEZ's plug (that goes to MISO/MOSI) and try again. If it works the 2nd time, but not the first, then obviously it won't work with it connected and you'll have to find a workaround.


I wish I could give you a more definitive answer, but its been awhile now since I developed TelemetrEZ and I've worked on a bunch of projects since. Its possible that the only reason I had to get fancy with the logic was due to the fact the SP board was permanently installed and the reset connection is also shared with the TelemetrEZ. I just don't remember at this point.

User avatar
redline
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:52 am
Country: -
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by redline » Fri Aug 08, 2014 9:26 pm

Awesome. Yer I gathered a SP board would solve any issue. Good to know it won't hurt things so I will give it a try. Thanks

User avatar
redline
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:52 am
Country: -
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by redline » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:42 am

so installed it and its not working.
Installed OpenTX vanilla, checked all switches work fine.
Installed OpenTX telemetrez version, plugged tEZ back in and throttle and aileron switch not responding.
So I gather that is an indication the TelemetrEZ board is either not functioning or not wired correctly???
So ... any suggestions to test?
Tried the little automated firmware update tool and it detects the usbasp fine but not the telemetrEZ even tried the socket in both orientations on the board header . Knowing my gumby-ness I have broken something...

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14958
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: Introducing: TelemetrEZ

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 14, 2014 7:47 am

Please try installing er9x-frsky.hex. The TelemetrEZ board firmware, before r90, runs at 9600 baud, r90 runs at 57600 baud. er9x has an option to select for this. It may well be the TEZ board firmware is earlier than r90 and openTx is expecting r90 (or the other way round).

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

Post Reply

Return to “FRSky Telemetry Mods”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests