FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

All mods related to the frsky telemetry series of the firmware
User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 1:21 pm

Question, for the RCTimer V/A Sensor that does 51.8V Max and 89.4A Max and has a 3.3V ADC so that I can connect it directly to the FrySky Receiver.
If i have a 3S Lipo that has 12.6V Max. I am trying to understand how to configure the Telemetry screen settings to represent the proper readings for Volts and Amps.
I have a E-Flight 3S Lipo 30C 11.1V at 3200mAh.

My full charge is 3200mAh

Image

Image
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Kilrah » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:09 pm

LTMNO wrote:that does 51.8V Max and 89.4A Max
If those are the input values for which the sensor puts out 3.3V, then you'd enter them as is in the Range fields.

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:15 pm

Hi Kilrah, if I am not mistaken the ER9x config screen for Telemetry only goes up to 50V and 65A on the configuration screen.

am I buggered?
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Kilrah
Posts: 9552
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2012 6:56 pm
Country: Switzerland

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Kilrah » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:19 pm

Ah, was thinking of openTx. Then yes, I think so.

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:22 pm

I am happy to convert... that is not an issue. As long as I can utilize the Mode Select, etc... then I am all good with that... I am just charing the batts, will test out the input from the sensor again and try that out.
but, in the meantime, if anyone knows the way to get ER9x to work, that would be good too. ;-)
Thanks again.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15647
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by MikeB » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:41 pm

On er9x, the voltage will go to 51.2 volts, but the current is only up to 65A.
I need to look into this, or get my "custom scalers" implemented.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:49 pm

Hi Mike, thanks for the information.

Side Note: I just can't believe that I am the first to have a T9x running ER9x and using this RCTimer Volt/Amp Sensor to read voltage and amperage data to output to FrySky Receiver and view it on our beautifully modded Radios that are Telemetry Ready. ;-)

And we are back....
I am chasing another rabbit down the hole with the use of the JDrones IOBoard and having it read the information from the 3DR Power Module connected to the APM and display that on Radio Telemetry Screens.

I have both options and hardware... just looking for the best solution.

Thanks again for the input... Hopefully someone who had done this will share.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by jhsa » Wed Jun 19, 2013 4:53 pm

I'm using the openXsensor to do that.. that means we are building our own sensors.. I know that you like to build stuff too, so, you also have that option ;)
and according to what I've been reading on these forums, both er9x and openTX are planning to fully support the oXs if I understood it correctly, which is great.. the arduino will do most of the calculations and send the data down to the tx.. I currently have one of these sensors in one of my planes and it's working great.. or it was, until my plane decided to eject one of the prop blades on takeoff yesterday, and half desintegrate itself :mrgreen:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:10 pm

Olá my friend... sorry to hear about your plane... I was reading on your thread about the sensor... I was interesting in build that but I already have 2 sensors now. One that is made for the APM2.5 and works perfectly when using Telemetry Radios to Ground Station.
The other one was suppose to be good for FrySky and probably is just need to get the Radio Firmware jiving with it. I have seen many iterations of Sensors out there.. I figure for the $10-$15 I would buy before I build. Only because it was readily accessible. I will keep the openXsensor in mind though.

Thanks.

Pino
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by jhsa » Wed Jun 19, 2013 5:15 pm

It was just an idea ;) I love building this stuff..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
LTMNO
Posts: 1047
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2012 9:31 pm
Country: Canada
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by LTMNO » Wed Jun 19, 2013 6:08 pm

jhsa wrote:It was just an idea ;) I love building this stuff..

João
I understood.. Love the ideas... its good to have options... and I know you know I like to build things too....
Thanks for the suggestion.

I pinged you this morning... as I was trying to reach you earlier...

thanks again.
Custom 9x with M64/Telemetry Mod

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:23 pm

Hi,

Is there any current sensor for FrSky modded Turnigy9X which shows current consumption (mAh) and is capable to handle ~120 amp draws? I need one for my glass fiber ~1.2m BAE HAWK EDF plane which draws around 120 amps at WOT? It uses 8S 4000mAh LiPos and it would be good to know when batteries are running low because when they do plane will be down like a rock. :D

If no then, how about that FrSky 100A sensor. If I change setup so that current draw will be just below that 100A. Could that sensor measure current consumption? Asking because I'm still quite new with these telemetry things.
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15647
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by MikeB » Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:36 pm

Er9x/ersky9x supports the FAS100 providing battery voltage, current, and total mAh used. I've been using it!
I've even added an offset setting for the FAS100 as they don't quite read 0.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Sat Jul 20, 2013 9:58 pm

But as far as I have understood that it can be only used setup which draws 100A and under. Am I right? It would really be nice to have sensor which could stand higher power consumption than this.

I'd really like the idea to have an alarm, when some amount of current is being drawn from batteries.

How do you connect that sensor. Directly to receiver or via hub? I looked that FrSky hub from HK, but I was unable to spot amp sensor connector from that!?
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15647
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by MikeB » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:09 pm

Yes, it has a limit of 100 amps. The FAS100 plugs directly into the receiver serial port.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Sat Jul 20, 2013 10:17 pm

Yes I thought that. I think I can lower my current draw with the Hawk to under that 100A limit with couple changes (higher voltage and lower KV). But I'm building another one where current draw will be more than 150A. No sensor for that one.... :(
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Mon Aug 26, 2013 4:41 am

Is there a possibility to hack some current sensor to deal more than 100A? For example 120A (constant) would be veeeery nice to have. 140A for a while would be even better. For example what would it take to hack FrSky own 100A sensor or maybe this one -> http://www.flytron.com/sensors/64-ultra ... ensor.html
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
ShowMaster
Posts: 4314
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 3:44 am
Country: -
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by ShowMaster » Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:15 am

Maybe 2 in parallel if the outputs could be added or summed?

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:28 am

Hmm... let me think awhile about that, but meanwhile what about this -> http://www.ebay.com/itm/50A-100A-150A-2 ... 1040360152

Could that be utilized somehow to measure the amp draw and consumed amps?
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by jhsa » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:15 am

You can do something like this using the allegro sensors and Rainer's openXsensor project.

http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... =30#p51498

Here I used an Allegro ACS758 100U which is 100A, but there are also 150 and 200A sensors.
In my opinion it is better to get "Unidirectional" sensors as they will have better resolution. We are not measuring negative currents anyway..
You will need to read the sensor's Datasheet and find out the voltages it outputs and do the calculations. It helps if you have an wattmeter.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Spoogy
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 6:27 pm
Country: -

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by Spoogy » Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:18 am

jhsa wrote:You can do something like this using the allegro sensors and Rainer's openXsensor project.

http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... =30#p51498

Here I used an Allegro ACS758 100U which is 100A, but there are also 150 and 200A sensors.
In my opinion it is better to get "Unidirectional" sensors as they will have better resolution. We are not measuring negative currents anyway..
You will need to read the sensor's Datasheet and find out the voltages it outputs and do the calculations. It helps if you have an wattmeter.

João
I was thinking something like this. So, if I buy for example 150U version of that unidirectional AC/DC Current Sensor Module which I gave link in my previous post and get those other accessories mentioned in your post then, in theory I could be on my way to build my own current sensor which could be capable to measure:

1. current draw up to 150A

2. calculate consumed current based on that drawn amps and time

And as far as I understand I should begin by buying arduino mini(?) and build OpenXSensor first or just utilize that Arduino by itself to do the calc. or what?

I think I need some software for the Arduino to:

1. Program it

2. make software which does the proper calcs


If someone could point me a way (because you have the knowledge) I'm willing to try and gather all necessary equips. and so on... Then, I hope we could have a current sensor which can be used in much more powerful electric systems (like ducted fan jets mostly has). ;)

I have all necessary tools and equips for building that kind of electronics and I have basic knowledge of how these things work (I'm automation engineer). Also I can program Delphi/VB/C++, But I do not have any experience about Arduino and need someone to point out and explain what to connect and where and why.
What goes up, must come down. -Isaac Newton
OpenTX - expanding possibilities

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17912
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by jhsa » Mon Aug 26, 2013 11:16 am

Ready for some reading? ;)

The openXsensor sends the information through serial to the receiver. You can also add a voltage sensor. Just 2 resistors connected to the arduino. It will measure your pack voltage.


http://code.google.com/p/openxvario/w/list

Arduino Pro Mini: Got some as they are extremely cheap from this seller. didn't test them though, but they should be ok.. really cheap

http://www.ebay.com/itm/130839929399?ss ... 1439.l2649

Current sensors:

http://www.allegromicro.com/Products/Cu ... s.aspx#Q29

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1X-ACS758-ACS75 ... 3cc6d8e570


http://www.ebay.com/itm/ACS758-ACS758KC ... 1c1d5e6348

If youn go the openXsensor route, we better move this conversation to this thread ;)

http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic ... =30#p51498

I just got 4 ACS758 50U and will have to build some sensors too.. Need to find the right values for them to insert into the arduino code.. :)

I hope it helps. I'm sure I forgot something but if you have questions just post them..


João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
wema1948
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:55 am
Country: Austria

Re: FrSky Amp/Current Sensor.

Post by wema1948 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 9:52 pm

Hallo,

really new to OpenXsensor I want to build the current sensor. I found the old wiki-page
https://code.google.com/archive/p/openx ... dules.wiki
but the links there do not work any more.
Where can I get information on
- how to build the sensor
- how to connect the ACS712 with the Arduino-board
- how to connect all this to to my FrSky-receiver

Thanls Max

I got these parts:
30A New Range Current Sensor Module Board For ACS712
Geekcreit® Pro Mini ATMEGA328P 5V / 16M Improved Version Module For Arduino
Geekcreit® FT232RL FTDI USB To TTL Serial Converter Adapter Module For Arduino

Post Reply

Return to “FRSky Telemetry Mods”