My 9Xtreme Installation

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:58 am

Hi,
I am thinking I want to do a mod to upgrade two or three of the 9Xtreme's 2 position switches, to 3 Position Switches.
Can this be done and if so how do I do this ? :?:

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:16 am

João explained it to me on RCG, swap the switch and pole hookup and the extra pole wire to one of the free pins that Mike has enabled. I don't think all are hot.
Fri Jan 29, 2016 - 20-13-53.png
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:46 am

So how is it wired properly and do I need make any setting changes in the firmware too ? :?:
Do I just choose any EX# I want ? :?:
Connect 3 Position Switch.jpg
Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:08 am

the last time I saw the list of pins you could use all were not hot and yea you have to map it in the radio and tell it what's up. THE LIST IS HERE, l'LL LOOK (damn caps)
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"

User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:12 am

looks like jhsa has the hot ones listed, one side is "a" and the other is "b"
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"


User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 5:22 am

this was from nov 6, I'm sure there are more now.
Fri Jan 29, 2016 - 21-20-23.png
Fri Jan 29, 2016 - 21-20-23.png (10.44 KiB) Viewed 1707 times
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"

User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:05 am

I did find this from Mike, end of Oct, things may have changed since.
Fri Jan 29, 2016 - 22-01-25.png
(6.32 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:35 am

Bob, I think it is well explained on the picture you just uploaded. The pins available are marked as EXT1 to 8 in the firmware, the same as in the picture. Forget "a" or "b". It doesn't matter. Connect the switch to the EXT pin of your choice and then just select it in "Hardware" for the switch you want to upgrade. That is what the picture says.. :)
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
9XTremist
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 5:55 am
Country: Other
Location: San Bernaseptictank, so-cal

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by 9XTremist » Sat Jan 30, 2016 9:30 am

well I guess you told me.
If you think that musical sounds come from ESC's
then you probably believe that "Star Trek" was
filmed on "Remote Location"

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 30, 2016 11:22 am

Don't understand what you mean? ;)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nickpsar
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:45 am
Country: Greece
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by nickpsar » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:27 pm

João can you please tell me how I initialize the one slider I have install in my transmitter. I have made the connection as shown in the picture you post it above. Which settings I have to change in the Hardware menu ?
Thanks Nick

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:36 pm

Hi 9XTremist and João,
Thank you for the info. :D I am having difficulty visualizing, Which Wire Goes Where. :?
I hope to upgrade four of the 2-Position switches to 3-Position Switches.
I am starting a new 9Xtreme mod Post titled: "Upgrade 3 Position Switch Mod 9Xtreme" click here: (viewtopic.php?f=126&t=8443).

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 30, 2016 6:40 pm

nickpsar wrote:João can you please tell me how I initialize the one slider I have install in my transmitter. I have made the connection as shown in the picture you post it above. Which settings I have to change in the Hardware menu ?
Thanks Nick
If it is connected, now you must add it in the hardware menu.
Start the radio while holding the left horizontal trim towards the left. After a second or so release the trim. This enables the hardware menu. Now go to Radio Settings/Hardware and find "P4" assign the analog input you connected the pot to and it should now show in the firmware as P4. Go to the main screen with the squares that simulate the sticks and pots.. You should now see P4 there. Calibrate sticks and pots.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

nickpsar
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:45 am
Country: Greece
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by nickpsar » Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:10 pm

Thank you very much João. My left slider is up and running. It was so easy!!!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Sat Jan 30, 2016 8:34 pm

Nice.. Well done ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Wed Feb 10, 2016 5:41 pm

Hi João,
One of my RC group members want a 6-Position Switch added to his 9Xtreme radio.
I believe it is the same procedures that I just did with the Taranis-x9d radio replacing one of the Pots and making the setting
changes in Radio Setup/Hardware to the pot chosen to replace (P1,P2 or P3) with the Taranis 6-Position Switch.
I also will be upgrading 4 of the 2-position switches to 3-Position Switch and maybe also adding the
Taranis Haptic Upgrade to the 9Xtreme Radio.

"9Xtreme Radio 6-Position Switch Upgrade Mod" click here: (viewtopic.php?f=126&t=8479).

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:36 pm

I didn't do the 6 position switch mod (and I won't do it :) ), but as far as i can see you can replace one of the 3 pots.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Wed Feb 10, 2016 8:59 pm

Hi João,
I am not thinking I want a 6-Position Switch for my self too.
But, I am up to do the Mod and to see how it comes out with the 9Xtreme.

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14172
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by MikeB » Wed Feb 10, 2016 10:32 pm

It should be a matter of fitting the 6-pos switch instead of one of the pots, then going to the hardware menu, selecting the pot position as the 6-pos switch source, then carry out the calibration.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Fri Feb 12, 2016 8:54 pm

Hi,
Would like to do a 9Xtreme FrSky Haptic Upgrade Mod and I am gathering the information for this mod.

I believe the wiring connections for the 9Xtreme Expansion Grid maybe:
1) Pin 10: +3.3V
2) Pin 12: Haptic Out Signal
3) Pin 13: -GND

FrSky Haptic
FrSky Haptic Upgrade.jpg
FrSky Haptic Wiring.
Is what I am showing here the correct wiring connections ? :?:

Add Update: See here for more How To info: (viewtopic.php?f=126&t=8488&e=1&view=unread#unread).

Bob B.
Last edited by bob195558 on Sat Feb 13, 2016 1:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14172
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by MikeB » Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:25 pm

Looks correct to me.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Fri Feb 12, 2016 11:34 pm

Thanks Mike ! :)
I wanted to be sure before I power it up.

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

mmilan
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:16 am
Country: United States
Location: Holly, Mi

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by mmilan » Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:55 pm

Joao or anybody else that can help, I am trying to install a slider or maybe two. Thank you Joao for the excellet pictorial tutorial for the slider installation. These are the Taranis type and they work if I replace one of the existing Pots. I can not get these to work if (middle pin of slider) connected to one of the following: ext1, ext2, ext3, or ext4. I am pulling 5v from pin one of one of the 9 pin connectors of the 9x board and ground from pin 4 of the same. I have used these from each of the two 9 pin connectors. Then I enabled Pot 4 and/or Pot 5 in the hardware menu and assigned the proper ext_ pin to it. Then when I tried to calibrate there is no movement. It seems to be pegged at Max range. I measured the voltage of each of the pins (ext_) and each has 5v when not connected to the slider pot. The slider middle pin (when not connected to any of the ext_ pins, will vary from .7v to 4.89v.
The version etc:
4032-Mike
Ersky9x-pr 219
Mod 9xt

I think that I am missing something fundamental, but for the life of me can't figure it out!
Attachments
image.jpeg

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:39 pm

mmilan wrote:Joao or anybody else that can help, I am trying to install a slider or maybe two. Thank you Joao for the excellet pictorial tutorial for the slider installation. These are the Taranis type and they work if I replace one of the existing Pots. I can not get these to work if (middle pin of slider) connected to one of the following: ext1, ext2, ext3, or ext4. I am pulling 5v from pin one of one of the 9 pin connectors of the 9x board and ground from pin 4 of the same. I have used these from each of the two 9 pin connectors. Then I enabled Pot 4 and/or Pot 5 in the hardware menu and assigned the proper ext_ pin to it. Then when I tried to calibrate there is no movement. It seems to be pegged at Max range. I measured the voltage of each of the pins (ext_) and each has 5v when not connected to the slider pot. The slider middle pin (when not connected to any of the ext_ pins, will vary from .7v to 4.89v.
I think that I am missing something fundamental, but for the life of me can't figure it out!
João,
With the Taranis Slider should the Yellow Center Terminal be connected to the Ground ? :?:

SORRY! :oops: I was not thinking right, You are right! :D

Bob B.
Last edited by bob195558 on Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:39 pm

Are you sure you connected the right pins? can you please take a good picture of the 9 pin connectors with the sliders attached?

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

mmilan
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:16 am
Country: United States
Location: Holly, Mi

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by mmilan » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:42 pm

Yes I can and will post in a little while.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:46 pm

bob195558 wrote: João,
With the Taranis Slider should the Yellow Center Terminal be connected to the Ground ? :?:

Bob B.
No, where did you see that? :o

I have just realized a little mistake on my picture.. The middle wire is yellow, not orange. but the others are correct, so not really a big problem.. But I never said the orange connects to ground.. I said that on my installation, red connects to ground and brown connects to 5V, otherwise the slider will be reversed.
Attachments
6-Slider.jpg
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
bob195558
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:24 pm
Country: United States
Location: New England, Vermont
Contact:

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by bob195558 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 1:56 pm

Hi João,
With the Taranis Slider should the Yellow Center Terminal be connected to the Ground ? :?:

SORRY! :oops: I was NOT thinking right, You are right! :D

Is there a need to go into the Hardware menu and make a setting change there ? :?:

Bob B.
RADIOS: ErSky9x on Taranis, ErSky9x on Sky9x, ErSky9x on 9Xtreme,
Er9x-FrSky on 9x-Radio with Smartieparts upgrade Programmer Board and 9x-TelemetrEZ Board.
Some help info here: (http://openrcforums.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=95&t=7182).
Bob B.

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16233
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:38 pm

In the hardware menu you just tell the radio which signal pin (analog pin) is connected to the slider

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

mmilan
Posts: 118
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2012 12:16 am
Country: United States
Location: Holly, Mi

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by mmilan » Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:02 pm

Joao, here are the pics. I think they are clear enough to identify the pins connected to the two sliders. Maybe not so clear is that I replace the Ele switch with a 3 position switch. It connected to Ext4 (black wire from 9 pin connector on the left side of the transmitter. It is working well. Thankyou for your time.
Mike
Attachments
image.jpeg
Overall view. Left extra wires for future
image.jpeg
Left side
image.jpeg
Right side

Post Reply

Return to “9Xtreme upgrade board”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest