My 9Xtreme Installation

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:57 pm

If you look at my installation on the first post of this thread, you will see that I use the connectors from the taranis Gimbals :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

willhac
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:25 am
Country: France

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by willhac » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:17 pm

Yes and it's a good solution, but I didn't install the Taranis gimbals, I'm ok with the stock gimbals. :mrgreen:
So I use the 5 pin JST plug that comes with the Taranis sliders !

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:26 pm

;) :)
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Sun Mar 06, 2016 10:10 pm

Thanks for the help guys

I also noticed that you can also get the JST 9 pin plugs and wires/pins from RS online in the UK

But I have chosen the easy option and ordered the ready wired plugs from Ebay China with the wire colours matching the pictures

By the way I think the 6 pin plugs and wire EZ telemetry connectors supplied with original SP boards would also do the connection job for extra switches and sliders with a bit of cutting work

You might also be interested to know that RS online also supply the Taranis type 3 position switches ( part no 734 7135) in small quantities at a cheap price with next day delivery

regards
Hans

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:28 am

Hi Joao

I'm preparing to install sliders on my 9Xtreme by following your excellent illustrations

I have a question before I start - what's the best method to cut away the Tx case to accommodate the slider?

Did you just use a sharp knife ?

Do you have any advice to avoid problems you may have encountered?

regards
Hans


User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 23, 2016 10:45 am

Make sure you measure everything correctly and mark all on the case before opening the hole for the slider. I used one of those abrasive stone tools on my dremel. Don't know if it is the right tool but it did the job very well :)
You could also use a smal round file, or one with a flat surface and a round surface. Use the round one obviously. Be careful not to hit wires and gimbals with the file.
cut just a little bit at the time checking always with the actual slider you will instal to avoid a too large hole. It is very easy to happen. Make sure both halves of the tx case can be joined together but remain quite tight around the slider.
When cutting/filing/grinding, etc, make sure you keep it as clean as possible, to avoid plastic dust to make its way to the gimbals..
I used hot glue to hold the slider in place.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:21 pm

Hi Joao

Thanks for the quick reply and the helpful advice

It gives me confidence to start the job without any nasty surprises

I hope you manage to solve your problem connecting to the PC - I am sure Mike or Steven will come up with an answer

many thanks
regards
Hans

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:23 pm

Thanks, I hope so

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:10 pm

Hi Guys

Thanks to your help I have successfully installed two Taranis sliders and I'm very pleased with the result.

A couple of points to note:-

The way I installed them, ie with the greater lever movement to the front/top of the transmitter, the connections should be reversed from those shown in the installation pictures - so for the left stick slider the red wire is connected to pin1 and the brown wire is connected to ground pin 4
The right stick slider wiring is the same as your installation picture

In the hardware menu, pot4 was assigned to EXT2 and pot5 was assigned to EXT3

Although pot5 does not appear on the home screen, it does appear when calibrating so you can check its centered ok

hope this might help others to complete this upgrade

regards
Hans

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Tue Mar 29, 2016 8:28 pm

lancaster wrote:Hi Guys

Thanks to your help I have successfully installed two Taranis sliders and I'm very pleased with the result.
Well done, nice that is working.. :D


A couple of points to note:-
The way I installed them, ie with the greater lever movement to the front/top of the transmitter, the connections should be reversed from those shown in the installation pictures - so for the left stick slider the red wire is connected to pin1 and the brown wire is connected to ground pin 4
The right stick slider wiring is the same as your installation picture
I only installed one, so I had no idea the connections were different.. ;) I will add a note.. Thanks
In the hardware menu, pot4 was assigned to EXT2 and pot5 was assigned to EXT3
On recent versions of the firmware (at least the test versions) The Inputs for the Pots are not called "EXTx" anymore, but "AIPx". So yours would be AIP2 (Analog input 2), and AIP3.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:56 am

Thanks Joao
I must keep my firmware up to date!

Did you manage to fix your bootloader?
regards
Hans

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:09 am

Still testing, but it seems to be working now.. :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

lancaster
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 10:28 pm
Country: United Kingdom

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by lancaster » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:22 am

glad to hear it !

Hans

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed Mar 30, 2016 10:41 am

False alarm :(
After your post I went test it again. Had failures. But at least is not freezing..
But better continue this discussion on the other thread ;)

Thank you for asking anyway ;) :)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Fri May 06, 2016 2:43 am

Hi João,
Thank you so much for documenting these this is awesome stuff.
Can I please ask you what type of switches you used for the extra 4 push buttons you installed.

Regards,
Neil

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Fri May 06, 2016 1:31 pm

Hi Neil.. I used something like this.. Not sure if I bought them from this seller, but they are similar.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20-Pcs-Tactile- ... XQfvlSlEqo

João

EDIT: A couple more links:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20pcs-4-pin-DIP ... SwcdBWRrMT

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20pcs-Tactile-P ... XQnXFRbB4G
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Mon May 09, 2016 1:09 am

Hi João,
Thank you for the links, I will purchase one of those as well.
I already have some coming, I just was not sure if you were using momentary or latching style switches.

Regards,
Neil

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Mon May 09, 2016 7:06 am

Oh, I didn't realize you just wanted to know that :)
I use momentary but latching could also he used.

You can make a latching switch using a momentary switch and a logical switch in software. For example, take the TRN switch that is momentary.
Now go to the logical switches menu and program one of them like this:

L1 F-Flop TRN !L1

This means that the TRN is the switch we are using to change the state of the logical switch and !L1 is the inverse of L1, or the inverse of the logical switch itself.
So, every time you flick the switch the logical switch will change to the inverse of its actual state.
If it was OFF it will turn ON, and if it was ON it will turn OFF. :) ;)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Tue May 10, 2016 2:03 am

Hi João,
That is fantastic information thank you, your responses are very much appreciated.

Regards,
Neil

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Tue May 10, 2016 9:06 pm

Hi João,
Can I please ask one more question?
What size are your haptic motors?
I got some in but they are tiny.. 4 x 8 mm they just don't seem big enough

Regards,
Neil

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Wed May 11, 2016 12:03 am

My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Sat May 21, 2016 6:51 am

Thank you so much for this thread João, and to Mike for the software tweaks. I have just hacked the hell out of my FS-th9x with 2 more pots (taranis sliders) 2 x 3 position switches, haptic feed back, just waiting on 4 buttons and 2 more 3 position switches to completely fill it up :lol: it has been fun, thanks.. :geek:

Neil

ksrivatsan
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:24 am
Country: United States
Location: California

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by ksrivatsan » Sun May 22, 2016 11:28 pm

Hi João,

Thanks for the guide on how to install Taranis gimbals.
I installed a pair in my 9x yesterday, and they are quite an upgrade from stock! I had a bit of a centering issue with the 9x gimbals (off by ~2.5% when returning from the far end), but these gimbals solved it. Not to mention they feel much smoother.

Now if only I could fix the case...

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Sun May 22, 2016 11:31 pm

ksrivatsan wrote:Hi João,

Thanks for the guide on how to install Taranis gimbals.
I installed a pair in my 9x yesterday, and they are quite an upgrade from stock! I had a bit of a centering issue with the 9x gimbals (off by ~2.5% when returning from the far end), but these gimbals solved it. Not to mention they feel much smoother.
Yeah, they are quite good, the Taranis gimbals ;) :)
Now if only I could fix the case...
Not sure I understand what you mean ;) :o 8-)

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ksrivatsan
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:24 am
Country: United States
Location: California

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by ksrivatsan » Mon May 23, 2016 2:52 am

This...
WIN_20160522_19_50_40_Pro.jpg
The threads for the six screws that hold the 9X together are basically gone. My radio is being held together by duct tape!
Hey, as long as it works...

User avatar
Crusader
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:08 am
Country: Australia

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by Crusader » Mon May 23, 2016 4:44 am

I have a couple of screws with the same issue, I have ordered some new screws a little larger diameter.

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 14374
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by MikeB » Mon May 23, 2016 8:30 am

I've found using some 6BA, self-tap screws, 20mm long work well if the thread has gone.
One useful piece of advice I'll repeat here. When putting the screws back in, turn them slowly BACKWARDS until they click slightly. You are then lined up with the existing cut thread and are less likely to strip the plastic.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 16561
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by jhsa » Mon May 23, 2016 9:53 am

I thi k there are different quality of plastic used on the 9x radios. My oldest radio was opened and closed lots of times i 6 years. 12 way connector died but the threads are all still very good.

I have another much newer 9x that I have opened just a few times, and the threads are all gone. Radio is held together with tape.. Ahh, and I didn't even put all screws in when I knew I was going to open it again soon. I did put half of them, and next time I put only the other half, so the threads weren't used that often. :(

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

ksrivatsan
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 12:24 am
Country: United States
Location: California

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by ksrivatsan » Tue May 24, 2016 4:20 am

Thanks for the help!
MikeB wrote:I've found using some 6BA, self-tap screws, 20mm long work well if the thread has gone.
Unfortunately, 6BA screws are a bit hard to come by in the US. Do you think M2.5 or M3 screws will work? They are a bit easier to find.
MikeB wrote: One useful piece of advice I'll repeat here. When putting the screws back in, turn them slowly BACKWARDS until they click slightly. You are then lined up with the existing cut thread and are less likely to strip the plastic.
Good point, I'll try to remember this.

s_mack
Posts: 867
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:11 am
Country: -

Re: My 9Xtreme Installation

Post by s_mack » Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:53 pm

ksrivatsan wrote:Unfortunately, 6BA screws are a bit hard to come by in the US. Do you think M2.5 or M3 screws will work? They are a bit easier to find.
I had to look up "6BA screws"... the result was that they are a "mostly obsolete" British-specific standard, so I am not surprised you can't find them. Looks like 6BA is 2.8mm while a US #4 screw is 2.845... so that'll probably work. Here they are at bolddepot.com.

Post Reply

Return to “9Xtreme upgrade board”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests