Keep breaking XJT modules

Hardware Support for the 9XR Pro
EdwardMcRichy

Post by EdwardMcRichy »

Hey guys, before I go shell out $104 on a QX 7, thought I would try to see what if anything can be done. I have been using the Frsky XJT module in my radio now for almost two years, in that time I've gone through two modules, for some reason they keep breaking. This time the module is contantly beeping indicating an antenna problem. Before it started beeping I had problems connecting to my x4rsb then it finally started beeping and wouldn't connect with the quad. I replaced the antenna and it still beeps and sometimes will connect with the receiver. I really don't want to purchase another module if in 6 months to a year it's going to break again. I'm wondering if the radio is doing this to the modules or if I just have bad luck and only get broken modules when I order them.

I only use stock antenna, never power on without an antenna and sometimes the module won't power on until I tap it. If I buy another module I would have spent $36x3, $108. A new QX7 is 104 and there is less chance of it going bad, in my opinion.

Need help before i go and spend the money on a new radio but I don't want to keep buying more modules.
When I'm not flying I'm dreaming of flying, when I'm not dreaming of flying.....I'm asleep

jhsa

Re: Keep breaking XJT modules

Post by jhsa »

If you have to tap your module so it works, it means there is a bad connection problem between the radio and the module. Some 9XR-PRO have shorter pins in the module bay. Other people had the same problem.. Some managed to push the pins a bit further using a soldering iron..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW
ReSt

Post by ReSt »

Thanks, João