AR9x board and what are options on FW

Upgrade your 9X!
Post Reply
solentlife
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:25 pm
Country: -

AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by solentlife » Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:43 am

I have a TGY 9x that is playing up on eePe ... I already had to 5V bridge the SP Basic board to get Aileron DR switch working again.

The radio will just not read / write to eePe ... but my FS 9X has no trouble at all with also an SP basic board.

My question : If I swap out the factory board for the AR9x board ... what are the options on FW I can flash it with ? At present I use the latest version of er9x in my 9x radios and would like to keep to similar to avoid learning new routines.

I am surprised that there is not a sub-forum for the AR9x upgrade.

Nigel

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:55 am

You have two options. Ersky9x, which is basically the same as er9x but with more features.
The other option is opentx.

If you are thinking about adding new switches, changing existing 2 position switches to 3 position, sliders, bluetooth, RTC, etc, then you really want Ersky9x.
Yes, I'm biased :mrgreen:

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

solentlife
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:25 pm
Country: -

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by solentlife » Wed Aug 24, 2016 6:57 am

Tks Joao .... simple answer.

Cheers

solentlife
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2016 6:25 pm
Country: -

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by solentlife » Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:06 am

OOPs ... Which ersky9x ? For the ar9x board ??

Cheers
Nigel

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:18 am

Ersky9x_rom.bin.
The same as for the skyboard.
You will have to enable the ar9x board in the hardware menu after you install the firmware.
To enable the hardware menu, which is protected, just turn your radio ON while holding the left horizontal trim to the left. Release it after a second or so...
Now navigate to Radio Setup / Hardware and enable the Ar9x board option.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW


User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:42 am

Or not, with recent test versions. The AR9X board uses a processor with 512K of flash memory, the SKY board uses one with 256K. Ersky9x now reads the processor ID and checks for 512K of flash. If it finds 512K it sets the AR9X flag automatically.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:46 am

You didn't tell us before?? :mrgreen: At least I don't remember reading it ;) :)
Anyway, I stand corrected then. And it is a nice improvement, thank you :)
But the setting is still there, shouldn't it be removed then??
João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by MikeB » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:23 am

It was the quickest way for me to add the feature. Specifically, on the SKY firmware, if the larger processor is detected then AR9X is turned on as is "Software volume", neither is turned off automatically. The AR9X option is turned off for the 'PRO.

It is likely I will need to build a specific version for the AR9X at some point. The firmware is approaching the 256K limit of the SKY board. My intention is to have 1 version for the AR9X board, and two for the SKY board. The SKY board ones will support only some of the language options so that between them all languages are supported. That will save a significant amount of flash for the SKY board.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 24, 2016 10:29 am

Thanks Mike. You know, I have never thought that the firmware could be reaching the limit on any of the more powerful boards :o And you always save flash whenever you can.. It's impressive the amount of features and hardware support you already did put on this firmware. And it keeps growing.. Thank you.

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

michel49
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am
Country: -

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by michel49 » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:16 pm

I need to update the bootloader of my AR9X board in order to flash the last FW which exceed 256K, actual is 1.9; I can't find where this has been discussed.
Thanks

MP

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:32 pm

You need the latest test version (ersky9xProvR221e3.zip) from here

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4676

Flash the bootloader from the file "ersky9x_rom.bin".
Then flash the firmware..

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

michel49
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am
Country: -

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by michel49 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:28 pm

Thanks Joao but that don't work, the BL stays at 1.9; I can only go up to C8; if I flash the E3 I get a snowy screen and I can't stop with the on/off switch.

MP

michel49
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 10:59 am
Country: -

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by michel49 » Thu Aug 31, 2017 6:32 pm

I use eepeskye ver.4.15; is that an issue ?

User avatar
MikeB
9x Developer
Posts: 15623
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:24 pm
Country: -
Location: Poole, Dorset, UK

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by MikeB » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:12 pm

Please confirm you are putting the file "ersky9x_rom.bin" from "ersky9xProvR221e3.zip", in the FIRMWARE directory on the SD card, then starting the radio in "Maintenance mode" (both horizontal trims held APART at power on), then using the "Update Bootloader" option to flash the bootloader.

Mike.
ersky9x/er9x developer
The difficult we do immediately,
The impossible takes a little longer!

User avatar
jhsa
Posts: 17816
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:13 pm
Country: Germany

Re: AR9x board and what are options on FW

Post by jhsa » Thu Aug 31, 2017 7:38 pm

Someone was having the same problem a couple days ago.. he updated the bootloader and the radio works normally now.
Please see here..

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthr ... ard/page88

João
My er9x/Ersky9x/eepskye Video Tutorials
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL5uJhoD7sAKidZmkhMpYpp_qcuIqJXhb9

Donate to Er9x/Ersky9x:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=YHX43JR3J7XGW

Post Reply

Return to “UPGRADE BOARDS”